Lemony Green Beans with Walnuts and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
As written, that's a heck of a lot of lemon and walnuts for a pound of beans! I cut back on both by more than half and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very nice recipe, but quite lemony, which I enjoyed, but you need to be mindful of what you serve this with, as a lemony taste does not go with well with some flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
JasBradley - What a great recipe!!! I prepared your recipe for Chrismas Dinner Party and it was a great hit!! Everyone liked this dish. It was a colorful touch to the rest of our meal. I may have over done the chopped walnuts, but everyone really loved it. I fixed three separate bowls for three tables. The picture was only one of the three bowls of Green Beans. Thanks for sharing this recipe with the ALLRECIPE.COM family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My husband loved it, for me it is a 4 1/2. I halved the recipe, used 1/8 cup of bottled lemon and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
bravo-- A wonderful hit at my dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnatherealtor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I found the idea of this recipe interesting, but I had a couple issues that had nothing to do with the actual recipe. First off, my daughter and I have texture issues with any kind of nuts in with fruit, so I substituted walnut oil for the nutty flavor. Second, to soften the lemon flavor a bit I used Lemon Myrtle from Australia and seasoned it until it was right for everyone, and lastly-I did this over lima beans. No special reason other than we were green beaned out over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Like recommended, I cut back on the lemon. I used almonds b/c that's what I had on hand. My husband, who grew up despising green beans, really liked these. He said these were even better than the green beans I make with bacon fat and pieces. Now that's saying something...and since we've wanted to make healthier choices, what a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Turned out very very lemony. Probably should have used just 1/2 a lemon instead of whole. Also, felt like the walnut pieces were too chunky ... hard to get much walnut with the bean or vice versa :( .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was very dissappointed with these beans. There should be a measurement for how much lemon juice/zest as all lemons are different sizes! My dinner guests and I all puckered our lips at the first bite. WAY to lemony. I would have used a third of the lemon juice and maybe added a bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States