Lemony Garlic Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We have really enjoyed this recipe. It's fast and EXCELLENT. If you use frozen shrimp, make SURE to defrost and pat dry before using in the sauce or else you'll get a pretty watery sauce. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I've been making a version of this for years. I got it from Ina Garten (Barefoot Contessa). I use 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice and a 'glug' of white wine, plus Italian parsley. Make sure you add the garlic only after you add the lemon juice/wine. Otherwise if you saute it with the shrimp, it will burn and there is nothing worse than burned garlic. For the pasta, I have made it with angel hair, regular spaghetti, and linguine and prefer linguine over all the others. It stays separated and doesnt turn into a big pasta glob. I also add several thin slices of lemon and fresh grated parmesan for presentation. It is absolutely one of my favorite dishes to make and only takes a few minutes to cook. It is excellent! Note: dont skip the step of soaking your shrimp in the salt water. It cleans them really well resulting in very fresh tasting shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
So Lemony, so garlicky, so wonderful! I cheated and skipped the brining. I used frozen, raw, peeled & deveined shrimp which the package touted was "prepared with sea salt," so I thought that was good enough! For the sauce, I did cut the butter back a little and only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (plenty hot for us!). I also added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt. For the lemon juice and zest, it's basically the juice and zest of one lemon. I served this over whole wheat spaghetti. It was excellent and I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Yummm...tastes just like a dish I would order at a restaurant. I omitted the red pepper and did not brine the shrimp due to time. But it was still excellent. Next time I will add more shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This dish is excellent and I added a few of the recommendations from other fellow reviewers...used 4Tsp. of Fresh Minced Garlic,& Juice and Zest of (1) Lemon. I also did a little spin of my own and added (1) Tsp. of cornstarch at the very end of cooking just to thicken it up a bit and it turned out So Good! Gave enough body to cling well to the Pasta...Oh and I only used 8 oz. of Pasta vs. the #1 Suggested. Did not have fresh shrimp used frozen still very good, and cayenne pepper...no flake on hand....also only had orzo pasta and it went well....Trust this recipe and Bon Apetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a good recipe but I didn't give it 5 stars because 1) I had to reduce the pasta to 8 ox for the amount of sauce. 2) The recipe needs salt. The amount of garlic, lemon and lemon juice is just right but I used the same measurements for the sauce for 1 lb shrimp and 1/2 lb pasta. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We'd give it a 5 Star, but I'd omitted crushed red chili flakes. Very light lemon flavoured sauce. I was worried that the thin-as-water sauce would cause angel hair pasta (nearly 1/2 a box) to taste 'watered-down' when tossed in pan of sauce & shrimp, but it didn't (was delicious), so added the remaining cooked pasta. Used 1.5# frozen raw 31/40 count shrimp (and ingredient measurements as recipe stated for 2# of shrimp). We're fans of garlic so next time I'll use 4-5T because 3T didn't 'stand-out' for us. Brined in sea salt for five hours, but didn't notice a difference between brining or not brining---however we rarely cook shrimp so I wouldn't know good from better ;^) Used 2T butter and a liberal drizzle of olive oil--both were more than enough so next time I'll use even less. Now that I know what to expect from/flavours of this dish...in the future I'll add veggies such as snow peas, thinly sliced bell pepper (red, orange, or yellow--green may be too tough/strong in flavour)and/or swiss chard in lieu of parsley. As stated in review preceding mine...the lemon zest and juice was one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I had scallops, not shrimp, but I wanted to use this sauce and it was a hit at my house. I added whatever else I had, which today was snow peas and fresh sliced mushrooms. We loved the white wine/lemon ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by kristen7
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
this was very yummy, my husband and i really enjoyed it. very good recipe but we did make some modifications. we used about 40% of the pasta recommended as there was not enough sauce. we also skipped brining the shrimp and instead added salt to taste. we also added some granulated garlic in addition to the fresh garlic to add more flavor. we skipped on the lemon zest out of pure laziness and added just a dash of wine to the sauce. we then added dried parsley and black pepper directly into the sauce. after the sauce was complete, we went and ahead and tossed the sauce with the garlic in a pan to evenly coat the pasta. i can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good sauce. I did add salt at Baking Nana's suggestion but that's a personal preference. I also always make more sauce than a recipe calls for but, again, a personal preference. I plan to use this sauce with chicken, too. Really very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States