Lemony Garlic Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Yummm...tastes just like a dish I would order at a restaurant. I omitted the red pepper and did not brine the shrimp due to time. But it was still excellent. Next time I will add more shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
So Lemony, so garlicky, so wonderful! I cheated and skipped the brining. I used frozen, raw, peeled & deveined shrimp which the package touted was "prepared with sea salt," so I thought that was good enough! For the sauce, I did cut the butter back a little and only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (plenty hot for us!). I also added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt. For the lemon juice and zest, it's basically the juice and zest of one lemon. I served this over whole wheat spaghetti. It was excellent and I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We'd give it a 5 Star, but I'd omitted crushed red chili flakes. Very light lemon flavoured sauce. I was worried that the thin-as-water sauce would cause angel hair pasta (nearly 1/2 a box) to taste 'watered-down' when tossed in pan of sauce & shrimp, but it didn't (was delicious), so added the remaining cooked pasta. Used 1.5# frozen raw 31/40 count shrimp (and ingredient measurements as recipe stated for 2# of shrimp). We're fans of garlic so next time I'll use 4-5T because 3T didn't 'stand-out' for us. Brined in sea salt for five hours, but didn't notice a difference between brining or not brining---however we rarely cook shrimp so I wouldn't know good from better ;^) Used 2T butter and a liberal drizzle of olive oil--both were more than enough so next time I'll use even less. Now that I know what to expect from/flavours of this dish...in the future I'll add veggies such as snow peas, thinly sliced bell pepper (red, orange, or yellow--green may be too tough/strong in flavour)and/or swiss chard in lieu of parsley. As stated in review preceding mine...the lemon zest and juice was one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We have really enjoyed this recipe. It's fast and EXCELLENT. If you use frozen shrimp, make SURE to defrost and pat dry before using in the sauce or else you'll get a pretty watery sauce. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
when my husband walked in and saw this dish on the stove he said "it looks like Mr. Noodles with shrimp" that about summed it up. I used fresh pasta, and maybe this was the mistake. Also, I brined the shrimp and didn't notice any difference to other shrimp dishes I've made. I make a similar dish with sliced garlic and chili flakes cooked in loads of good olived oil then add the cooked pasta with a bit of the pasta water -- this is similar, but not as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I had scallops, not shrimp, but I wanted to use this sauce and it was a hit at my house. I added whatever else I had, which today was snow peas and fresh sliced mushrooms. We loved the white wine/lemon ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe to build on - very forgiving of alterations, additions or modifications to suit your taste. I use only 1 lb of shrimp and add vegetables with the butter and garlic: squash ribbons, peas, or broccoli crowns. And I always add a large handful of parmesan cheese to top! Lovely and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This needs a lot more flavor to be a good recipe. As is, there's way too many noodles and not much else. The butter, the wine, even the hot pepper aspect gets lost. I'm sorry I didn't enjoy this as much as others who have tried it, but I couldn't justify any higher rating on something so bland. It takes a lot to get my family to not like shrimp dishes, but this did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Excellent. The sauce is nice and light. I added broccoli at the end just for a few minutes and it was a great addition. Huge Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I'm another one that skipped the brining (sorry), but still LOVES the recipe. (And it's QUICK!) The only other thing I did differently was to use some freshly squeezed lime on the pasta (because I had no more lemons). It gave it a bit more of a kick. My family loved this and I plan to make it again. (Thought the idea of adding a bit of fresh broccoli was worth trying too! Thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States