Lemony Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe. Refreshing, fast and easy with great flavor. I added the zest of 1/2 a lemon and doubled the lemon juice per other reviews of not enough lemon flavor. Also diced a small shallot (in place of the onion) and the mild flavor went well with the other ingredients. We will make this again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
While I ended up really liking these cucumbers, they do not live up to their name. I used grated onion because I don't like the texture of raw. The flavor of the dressing is very sweet and vinegary, very heavy on the celery seed and onion flavor - all of which is good, but by far overpowers the lemon. I doubled the lemon juice and garnished my cucumbers with lemon slices. Still, the primary flavor is celery seed. If you love it like I do, go for it - but don't expect 'lemony' cucumbers as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Made as written. A good change for cucumbers. Great as a side for sandwiches instead of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Deliciousssss! My husband said he likes this more than any veggie dish I've ever made. Great great great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srkosturos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very tasty. Awesome side for BBQ dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I thot this was a very good recipe, although I thot the celery seed was a bit too much, so I cut that down to 1 tsp. Also, the first time I made this, I misread the recipe, thinking it said white vinegar (as opposed to white wine vinegar)and I made it with the white vinegar, and it was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was really good :) We have a ton of cucumbers from the garden and there aren't too many great recipes for them. This is one of them! Per other reviews, I halved the celery seed but didn't change anything else. Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Nice flavor with the lemon! I have tons of cucumbers from the garden and this is another good recipe to use for them. Light and refreshing. Next time I will add garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Good balance of flavors, very zesty. I halved the amount of celery seed per a previous review and omitted the onions. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
25 Great Gotta try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States