Lemony Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really good with a subtle flavor. If you let them sit for a couple of days the vinegar taste will take over, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I really like this recipe. It brings back memories of summer dinners at my grandmothers who lived in a duplex with her two sisters living on the other side. They did not have air conditioning. Down in their basement, they had a small kitchen on one side, the other side was a large table with chairs. This is the type of recipe they would fix because it is quick, easy and you don't have to heat up the oven. It's perfect with a more seasoned or spiced dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
These were good. I might have to adjust some of the ingredients next time for my taste, I'll skip the celery seed and lessen the sugar. Quick way to add greens to a dish, I served with sushi rice and Chef John's caramel chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have to agree with the consensus that this dish is bland. On the day you make it. Let it sit a day or two, and it's very refreshing and tasty. I rated it 4 stars simply because I won't ever make it again although I enjoyed trying it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this yesterday with cucumbers from my friends garden. It was delicious! I read the reviews and halved the amount of celery seed. Glad I did. It would have been WAY too much. I also found the easiest way was to dump all the ingredients in a gallaon zip lock bag while marinating in the fridge, then transfer to serving bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These really should be called "Celery Seed Cucumbers" as the recipe calls for so many. I only put in half, and I was still scooping some of them out. I liked the vinegar and celery taste. I was expecting more lemon flavor, maybe a little zest with it would help. Made as written I ended up adding a scoop of sour cream to offset all the seeds and give the flavor a little more oomph. I'll make this again with tweaks; the recipe gave me some good ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These were delicious as written- will make again over the summer for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was not for me. I found it very vinegary and was not a fan of the celery seeds in it. Maybe celery salt instead? I can see how others would enjoy it and my hubby did so I would still recommend it. It just wasn't for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I really liked this with the exception of the celery seeds. That was my own fault as I knew putting them in that I might not like them in there. Mind you, I liked their flavor, just not the seeds themselves. Next time I will use celery salt and cut back on the other salt. I would say 75% of us liked this recipe. The other 25% aren't sour or bitter fans. I will make this again as written, with the exception of the seeds. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Oh My Goodness!! Hand to goodness.... The best summer salad you must try! Please splurge on the celery seeds... You will make this over and over again!! My kids ate this ( yes they are picky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States