Lemony Chicken with Artichoke Hearts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
i always read the reviews before i try a recipe. this one had great reviews. unfortunately i found it very lemony, strong and unpleasant as i tasted it throughout. we love lemon! i cut the chicken cooking in half which was perfect. i had to add about 4 T sugar to make it not as acidic or ??? as it tasted at the beginning. it ended up ok. my guest agreed. i have 2 criteria - wud make again or wud not make again. this wud be the latter. however, i do bow to those who love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed this recipe quite closely, with a few changes. I used chicken tenders instead of breast halves, and used probably a pound and three-fourths. I browned the chicken in a combination of butter and olive oil, rather than butter only. I doubled the sauce, except, thankfully, the lemon. If I had doubled the lemon, the whole thing would have been inedible. As it was, the lemon was on the edge of overpowering. The sauce was a nice consistency, but the basil was also a little overpowering. There was a lot of flavor to this dish but not a lot of depth. It’s possible I’ll make it again but right now I don’t plan to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinSoccerMom
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This dish was amazing and tasted very gourmet. My family loved it. I served it over a bed of angelhair. The sauce got absorbed into the pasta after it sat, so if you want it for leftovers, I would keep the chicken and sauce separate. I didn't have vermouth, so I used Chardonnay which was perfect. The chicken could have been more flavorful, so next time I will season it with salt and pepper rather than mixing salt in with the flour so that it gets more evenly flavored. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinSoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Was out of lemon so used 1 small grapefruit. Delicious and healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Tried this tonight for the husbands bday...chicken was moist and delicious....however i will agree with others, 1 lemon would have been more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I added fresh mushrooms and parmesan cheese (at the end). We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Guntersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This dish was delicious! It was just a bit too "Lemony" so next time I will use the juice of one lemon only. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The whole family liked it to much lemon for me will cut back on it the next time but will have again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. Good for a weeknight. Followed other reviews - used chicken cutlets in place of boneless breasts and Chardonnay in place of vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Followed the recipe pretty closely omitted the vermouth though. This was pretty good however too lemony! Gave it four stars because my family loved it1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States