Lemongrass Ground Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made a lot of changes. First we didn't grill them. It was a freaking 13 below outside. I fried them until they were brown on the outside and then tossed them into the crockpot with the Rice Vinegar Basting Sauce recipe from this website. I also used dried lemon grass, since fresh is never available to me. (If anyone has a better way to reconstitute lemon grass so it isn't woody, I'd love to hear it.) I served this as an appetizer to dinner guests and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. Added soya sauce instead of salt like other users ... had no cornstarch so I added 2 tsp. rice flour ... some fresh thyme and basil from my garden. Then I refrigerated them for 2 hours. They stayed together very well and tasted delicious. Thanx for sharing bbqgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I added fresh ginger and substituted soy sauce for the salt. The substitution was a mistake and made the meatballs too moist. Other than that, they tasted great. The flavors work really well together. I wanted a sauce to make them a little juicier, but everyone else in my family liked them as they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OBERPRILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Like one of the other reviews, I added fresh ginger and used soy sauce instead of salt. I also didn't have oyster sauce, so used black been sauce instead. Flavor was pretty good, but trying to GRILL these was ridiculous! I ended up scraping most of it off the grill onto a cookie sheet and broiling them. I might play with the recipe since it was a different taste for ground beef, but I won't be FOLLOWING this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
broiled them and they were great. I did not add the full amount of lemon grass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
While the flavors in this were great, I found my meatballs to be quite fibrous? Maybe I dont know how to prepare lemongrass. I just chopped up the whole stalk and then blended with the onion and garlic. We will probably try again but this time I will have to strain out the woody pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried these meatballs as I love lemongrass! Used a puree lemongrass as the stalks weren't available. Pureed the lemongrass, onions and garlic and think it would have been better had a I coarsely chopped as the recipe called for. May give them another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I couldn't stop eating these they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very good! I served them with Rice Vinegar Basting Sauce from this site as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States