Lemongrass Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I was really looking forward to this and was sadly disappointed. I followed the directions other than using 1 tbsp dried lemongrass instead of the fresh because that's what I had. The texture was fine (I added about 1 cup extra water per other reviews) but the taste was pretty bad. It somehow had a bitter undertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe - worked really well. I do wish that people would stop rating a recipe badly, when they haven't actually followed the instructions, or even used the ingredients as recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I had problems cooking rice in coconut milk with another recipe I tried, so I cooked the rice with water and 1/2 tsp of salt as I usually do, along with the rest of the ingredients except the coconut milk. When the rice was done, I added in the coconut milk. This probably made it have more of a creamy texture then the original recipe, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is really good, but I had to add a significant amount of salt, and I added some fresh cilantro once the rice was finished cooking. Next time I'll add extra lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used brown basmati (with more liquid) and cooked it in the rice cooker. The color and aroma were lovely but the finished dish was a disappointment. It wasn't distinctive at all and with the additional fat and calories from the coconut milk I wanted bigger flavors. I might try it again with less coconut milk and more water for the brown rice, or use jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This has potential. I found that the tumeric was not quite strong enough so I added 2 tbsp of curry powder. The rice would just not soften. It was burning the bottom of the pan. I kept having to add water which made it eventually lose taste. Next time I think I will try having pre-cooked rice and then adding the ingrdients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very appealing and fragrant! I love trying new tastes and foods so this was even more of treat. I'm hooked on lemongrass now. I did change the recipe based on comments and a friends' advice. I used one tin of coconut milk and two cups of instant rice. Not a fan of instant anything but this may be the first time this stuff turned out perfectly. Also, I can't stand bay leaves and left them out. This is definitely a pot luck dish. Thank you MrsElaineous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was in a hurry so I used about 2 Tablespoons of prepared lemon grass (not the stalks). Also added a pinch each of white sugar and salt. Used a rice cooker, but did not treat the coconut milk as liquid since it usually absorbs quickly without cooking the rice. Therefore, I still added the usual amount of water. Also don't use curry powder, tumeric has a much stronger flavor, but I doubled the amount stated here. I skipped the bay leaves since I was out of them, but wonder how they might have changed the flavor. The rice was fragrant and all flavors worked together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I was very disappointed by this recipe. It was very bland overall. I could taste the lemongrass but not the coconut milk. Just like another reviewer described, the rice cooked way too fast even at a very low temperature and stuck to the bottom of the pan. I had to add 1 cup of water for the rice to finish cooking w/o burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had a hard time with this recipe! The cocomut milk was very thick, I used curry powder instead of turmeric,which I think would have been OK. It cooked much quicker than the recipe suggested, even at a very low heat and it was very dry because the moisture was gone before the rice was fully cooked. I had planned to take it to our church Christmas party but ended up throwing it out, even after keeping it overnight, thinking I might be able to doctor it up a little. I love lemongrass and coconot milk together as in Thai food so I might try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States