Lemonade Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Ok, this isn't five stars unless you make a few changes. Once you do though this is a WINNER. First, use HALF of a 12oz can of lemonade concentrate (not pink) in the batter, plus the extra flour mentioned below and lowering to 350. The bottoms will brown but the tops never get really brown. It is a soft cakey cookie when done. I then iced them with a butter/confectioners sugar/milk icing that I added the other half of the lemonade concentrate to. I also added a touch of red to make the icing pink. I'd seen these cookies done this way and then called pink lemonade cookies at an awesome bakery. I made the icing kind of thick... Mine tasted identical...everyone loved them and there eyes rolled back as they chewed. I also added a tiny dust of red sugar sprinkles just to make them pretty. Try it, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think I have finally perfected this recipe to my liking. Most complaints are the texture and lack of strong lemonade flavor. These are the changes I made and they made these exactly the cookie I was craving... hope it works for you as well. NEW AND IMPROVED LEMONADE ZINGER COOKIES 1 1/4 C Butter 1 C white sugar 3 1/2 C self-rising flour 1 can frozen lemonade concentrate 2 C powdered sugar lemon zest for garnish Cream 1 C butter and 1 C white sugar. Gradually beat in self-rising flour. Add 3/4 C concentrate. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until tops look dry and bottom edges are just barely beginning to brown. Let cool completely before removing from cookie sheet. For frosting, beat 2 C powdered sugar, 1/6 C of concentrate (I just filled my 1/3 C measure half full) and 1/4 C butter. Decorate as desired. Garnish with lemon zest. BEWARE, these are potent but yummy. Took them to a cookie exchange and they got rave reviews because they were so different from the rest. Hope these changes work great for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This cookie is so good! They are so light and fluffy. I added 1/2 cup more flour and baked them at 350 instead of 400. I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This is a good recipe which I will make again. The dough was a little too wet to drop from teaspoons, so I added almost another 1/2 cup flour to the mixture. Thanks,Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Great little cookies. I did add a couple of TBSP of lemon zest to give a brighter flavor to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were a hit at my cookie exchange. I made a really thick icing with the little bit of leftover lemonade concentrate. Dyed it yellow and added a tiny teaspoon of milk. Spread it on the cookies and sprinkled coarse sugar crystals on top! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These cookies were a childhood favorite of mine, but the last time I was looking to make them my mom had lost the recipe. It was my grandmother recipe. So this time I set out to find a recipe close. And I found it with recipe! They are so so so yummy! Brings back good memories of growing up. I did change one think though, I baked them at 375 for 10 minutes. 400 is too hot and the tops of your cookies will be brown. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Herron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
its very good the way i did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were really not good. I followed the recipe to the letter, but we really didn't like them. Even my kids wouldn't eat them and they will usually eat anything with sugar in it. The cookies themselves had no flavor and the tecture was kind of mealy and dry. The lemonade and sugar topping was so bright and tart as to make you pull away at first bite. I love lemon, but this was unpleasant and chemically. Thanks for the recipe, but I think I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NurseJanice
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is a soft cookie with the majority of the lemon flavor coming from the lemonade concentrate added to the top of the cookies after they are done baking. I inadvertently used a can of pink lemonade. It did not alter the color of the cookie; however, it did add a nice hint of pink to the top of the cookie when added at the end with the sugar. I did not have a problem with burning. Nice cookie I will make again during summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States