Lemonade Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These cookies are so good! They have a nice lemon flavor which I do not think is overpowering but I really like lemon. I am so glad to have found this recipe again. My mom and I have made these for years but I copied the recipe down wrong and my mom couldn't find her copy. These are the exact directions. We never made any changes except sometimes I would use lime concentrate for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were really not good. I followed the recipe to the letter, but we really didn't like them. Even my kids wouldn't eat them and they will usually eat anything with sugar in it. The cookies themselves had no flavor and the tecture was kind of mealy and dry. The lemonade and sugar topping was so bright and tart as to make you pull away at first bite. I love lemon, but this was unpleasant and chemically. Thanks for the recipe, but I think I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Excellent cake like cookies with a refreshing lemon flavor. I did add the extra 1/2 c. flour as recommended. Also chilled the dough which made it a little easier to work with. I tried making a powdered sugar/concentrate glaze but preferred the original suggestion of brushing w/ leftover lemonade (I used a 12 oz can and used half in the cookies) and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Ok, this isn't five stars unless you make a few changes. Once you do though this is a WINNER. First, use HALF of a 12oz can of lemonade concentrate (not pink) in the batter, plus the extra flour mentioned below and lowering to 350. The bottoms will brown but the tops never get really brown. It is a soft cakey cookie when done. I then iced them with a butter/confectioners sugar/milk icing that I added the other half of the lemonade concentrate to. I also added a touch of red to make the icing pink. I'd seen these cookies done this way and then called pink lemonade cookies at an awesome bakery. I made the icing kind of thick... Mine tasted identical...everyone loved them and there eyes rolled back as they chewed. I also added a tiny dust of red sugar sprinkles just to make them pretty. Try it, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NurseJanice
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is a soft cookie with the majority of the lemon flavor coming from the lemonade concentrate added to the top of the cookies after they are done baking. I inadvertently used a can of pink lemonade. It did not alter the color of the cookie; however, it did add a nice hint of pink to the top of the cookie when added at the end with the sugar. I did not have a problem with burning. Nice cookie I will make again during summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I think it's a good recipe- I found the lemonade flavor to be very subtle, and I intended these cookies to be for children, but they are much more sophisticated, and would fit well at an afternoon tea. The first batch I made did not flatten at all, so I flattened them myself with my fingers, and the shape looked much better. But I had no issue with burning at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I would describe these cookies as sugar cookies with a slight lemony flavor. I had thought the flavor would be more intense. As other reviewers suggested I added an additional 1/2 cup of flour and decreased the cooking temperature to 350. My cookies did not burn and the dough was the consistency of a soft cookie dough. I had to keep it in the fridge between batches or it became difficult to scoop out. I love the idea of the lemony cookie, but this just didn't do it for me. They are not bad, but I will continue to search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I have to agree with a couple of the other reviewers. These cookies just didn't do anything for me. The dough was quite wet and the cookies were far too cake-like in texture and bordered on burned. I will say I like the idea of the lemonade as the liquid and a glazing medium, but I'll use that on a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
These cookies aren't bad, at least in the flavor department. As far as texture, well they were way to soft to eat like a cookie. They fell apart. If I'd have baked them any longer they would have burned, so I'm not exactly sure why they turned out like that. I've stored the leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge, so maybe that'll help them firm up a bit. I will try this recipe one more time though because they didn't taste bad. My issue was with the texture. I'm just wondering if maybe I did something wrong and that's why they turned out so soft and literally fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think I have finally perfected this recipe to my liking. Most complaints are the texture and lack of strong lemonade flavor. These are the changes I made and they made these exactly the cookie I was craving... hope it works for you as well. NEW AND IMPROVED LEMONADE ZINGER COOKIES 1 1/4 C Butter 1 C white sugar 3 1/2 C self-rising flour 1 can frozen lemonade concentrate 2 C powdered sugar lemon zest for garnish Cream 1 C butter and 1 C white sugar. Gradually beat in self-rising flour. Add 3/4 C concentrate. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until tops look dry and bottom edges are just barely beginning to brown. Let cool completely before removing from cookie sheet. For frosting, beat 2 C powdered sugar, 1/6 C of concentrate (I just filled my 1/3 C measure half full) and 1/4 C butter. Decorate as desired. Garnish with lemon zest. BEWARE, these are potent but yummy. Took them to a cookie exchange and they got rave reviews because they were so different from the rest. Hope these changes work great for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States