Lemonade Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think I have finally perfected this recipe to my liking. Most complaints are the texture and lack of strong lemonade flavor. These are the changes I made and they made these exactly the cookie I was craving... hope it works for you as well. NEW AND IMPROVED LEMONADE ZINGER COOKIES 1 1/4 C Butter 1 C white sugar 3 1/2 C self-rising flour 1 can frozen lemonade concentrate 2 C powdered sugar lemon zest for garnish Cream 1 C butter and 1 C white sugar. Gradually beat in self-rising flour. Add 3/4 C concentrate. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until tops look dry and bottom edges are just barely beginning to brown. Let cool completely before removing from cookie sheet. For frosting, beat 2 C powdered sugar, 1/6 C of concentrate (I just filled my 1/3 C measure half full) and 1/4 C butter. Decorate as desired. Garnish with lemon zest. BEWARE, these are potent but yummy. Took them to a cookie exchange and they got rave reviews because they were so different from the rest. Hope these changes work great for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
just great! A "non fussy" old fashioned type of cookie with a different taste. Fits in any type of menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Ok, this isn't five stars unless you make a few changes. Once you do though this is a WINNER. First, use HALF of a 12oz can of lemonade concentrate (not pink) in the batter, plus the extra flour mentioned below and lowering to 350. The bottoms will brown but the tops never get really brown. It is a soft cakey cookie when done. I then iced them with a butter/confectioners sugar/milk icing that I added the other half of the lemonade concentrate to. I also added a touch of red to make the icing pink. I'd seen these cookies done this way and then called pink lemonade cookies at an awesome bakery. I made the icing kind of thick... Mine tasted identical...everyone loved them and there eyes rolled back as they chewed. I also added a tiny dust of red sugar sprinkles just to make them pretty. Try it, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
My Dad loves this recipe, in fact my Mom had it and lost it years ago. We are so glad that I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This cookie is so good! They are so light and fluffy. I added 1/2 cup more flour and baked them at 350 instead of 400. I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
Had this or a similiar lemonade cookie reciepe years ago. I'ts excellent. Takes some care when baking. A real hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Excellent cake like cookies with a refreshing lemon flavor. I did add the extra 1/2 c. flour as recommended. Also chilled the dough which made it a little easier to work with. I tried making a powdered sugar/concentrate glaze but preferred the original suggestion of brushing w/ leftover lemonade (I used a 12 oz can and used half in the cookies) and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
its very good the way i did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NurseJanice
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is a soft cookie with the majority of the lemon flavor coming from the lemonade concentrate added to the top of the cookies after they are done baking. I inadvertently used a can of pink lemonade. It did not alter the color of the cookie; however, it did add a nice hint of pink to the top of the cookie when added at the end with the sugar. I did not have a problem with burning. Nice cookie I will make again during summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These cookies are so good! They have a nice lemon flavor which I do not think is overpowering but I really like lemon. I am so glad to have found this recipe again. My mom and I have made these for years but I copied the recipe down wrong and my mom couldn't find her copy. These are the exact directions. We never made any changes except sometimes I would use lime concentrate for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States