Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is by far my favorite cake so far! I've read some comments about it tasting not right because of the box cake and pudding. Well my suggestion would be to use your own scratch recipe and stop adding pudding when the recipe CLEARLY calls for jello!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious. I added some lemon extract (1 tsp) and a tsp. of lemon rind and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my Birthday, and it is fantastic. I also substituted splenda for the sugar and used sugarfree jello, and it still tasted great. Nobody knew. I grated a little lemon zest into the batter. If you use "Baker's Joy" spray, your cakes will always fall right out of the pan. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I baked this cake for a dinner party. The recipe was quick and easy...just what I was looking for. I think I took it out of the pan too soon though because it stuck and fell apart...even though I used a non-stick pan and cooking spray. I put it back together the best I could and cut it into slices. It was a hit with my guests, none of which can tell a box cake from a scratch cake anyway. I did heat the lemonade mixture and probably will cut the sugar next time as it was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leoyak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Taste was awesome, but mine fell. It had a canyon all the way around. I live at 4500 feet. I'm thinking I should try it again and add 1/4 cup flour to the batter. Any ideas from the high altitude bakers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this cake was very good - nice and moist. unfortunately it stuck to the pan when I went to flip it out so it wasn't as pretty as it could have been but it tasted good either way! there was too much of the glaze -- i only used about half of it - it pooled around the bottom of the cake, so i let it be. You could taste a little bit of bitterness from the pudding or the cake mix - need to try to find a recipe that actually uses lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Lemonade you eat and not drink! Love this cake. I always add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. You can vary the amount of glaze you use on top. IF you really want a lemon kick, save half of the lemon glaze, add powdered sugar (to your desired consistecy) and drizzle over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Buttercream Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a delicious cake! The only thing I was confused on was the lemonade. There ARE NO 6oz cans of lemonade in my area. But with all the talk of the sugar, I decided to use just half the can, and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. Made the glaze nice and tangy. But then, I second-guessed myself, and decided that they MUST be talking about the WHOLE can of lemonade, so I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the remaining 6oz, and poured that over, as well. NOPE! 12oz is just TOO MUCH glaze for this. But it's STILL very good, and moist. I also noted what someone else suggested, and heated the lemonade so that the sugar would dissolve into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I think part of it is just a preference on taste. I like lemon and thought this sounded delicious, but to me it was almost like eating straight lemon pudding-just the flavor aspect. It turned out beautiful and I followed the directions to a "T" but our family did not enjoy at all. I needs something, but I just dont know what. I really wanted to like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutly an amazing cake! I made it in cupcake form for my sons first birthday and decorated them as little ducks!! What a hit!! I think that it has been made apparent that this is a box cake. Though if one does not enjoy box cakes I'm sure there is another recipe that will please you. Simply just a great cake with simply ingredance you can wip up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States