Lemonade Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have made this several times and it is an absolute hit around my home and with friends! I don't make the frosting, instead I use cool whip and it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've beenmaking this for years and lost the recipe - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe for a warm summer night. Easy to make a day or so ahead of time, kept in the freezer, and frost the morning to be served. I used Cool Whip as others suggested but it got a funnny texture when I added the lemonade. I think I would just add flavoring next time. It was still very good and enjoyed by all. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This cake earned very high marks with my husband and parents. I did change the middle layer with what I had on hand. My middle layer has pineapple sherbet with red raspberries and bananas in it. I also added the lemonade concentrate to the sherbet. Because of the raspberries I did omit the red food coloring. This cake is so refreshing and is a nice addition to my summer recipes. Thanks Deanmona for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Made this cake for my daughter's birthday per her request. It was good, but seemed to be missing something... if I make it again, I would plan to serve it with fresh strawberry garnish or strawberry jam in the layers. It melted VERY quickly, so serve it fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The prefect mix of sweet and tart. Everything turned out perfect except the icing. I used cool whip as many reveiwers suggested, but when i mixed in the lemonade it got a little too soupy. I managed to salvage tho, and it tasted delish! I folded fresh raspberries from my garden into the ice cream for a little extra punch, and they were a lovely addition. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Most reviewers rated this as a great summertime cake, but I just made it for my birthday & think it would work cute as a valentine's day cake too. I made half a cake mix into a one-layer heart shaped pan (the rest I used for cup cakes.) Then I mixed the quart of softened ice cream, lemonade and red food coloring with a beater and spread it on top of the cake. I almost stopped here because the swirled ice cream was so pretty. But I had a small container of cool whip, so I beat that with the rest of the lemonade and spread that on top. (It looked like the lemonade would curddle the cool whip, but I beat it with a beater & it came out fine). I frosted the cake with that & added red sprinkles on top. This came out more of an ice-ream cake since it only had one layer of cake. Someone who is used to buying ice-cream cakes at the ice-cream store said, "You made this?" It was so easy my 5 year old grandson helped me do most of it. And it turned out pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I saw this recipe over two years ago at this site and could not wait to try it. I finally got the chance at a dinner party. I served it in souffle dishes for that personal touch. It was like woah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
A good change & great treat in the summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Very good and FANCY looking. I probably added too much extra lemonade concentrate, because it was quite TART! But really easy considering only 3-step process. I used Cool Whip, which was PERFECT. I don't know why you'd want to make it more difficult by doing whipping cream mix. Cool Whip keeps it a clean, fresh taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States