Lemonade Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have made this several times and it is an absolute hit around my home and with friends! I don't make the frosting, instead I use cool whip and it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've beenmaking this for years and lost the recipe - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe for a warm summer night. Easy to make a day or so ahead of time, kept in the freezer, and frost the morning to be served. I used Cool Whip as others suggested but it got a funnny texture when I added the lemonade. I think I would just add flavoring next time. It was still very good and enjoyed by all. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This cake earned very high marks with my husband and parents. I did change the middle layer with what I had on hand. My middle layer has pineapple sherbet with red raspberries and bananas in it. I also added the lemonade concentrate to the sherbet. Because of the raspberries I did omit the red food coloring. This cake is so refreshing and is a nice addition to my summer recipes. Thanks Deanmona for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Made this cake for my daughter's birthday per her request. It was good, but seemed to be missing something... if I make it again, I would plan to serve it with fresh strawberry garnish or strawberry jam in the layers. It melted VERY quickly, so serve it fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The prefect mix of sweet and tart. Everything turned out perfect except the icing. I used cool whip as many reveiwers suggested, but when i mixed in the lemonade it got a little too soupy. I managed to salvage tho, and it tasted delish! I folded fresh raspberries from my garden into the ice cream for a little extra punch, and they were a lovely addition. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Most reviewers rated this as a great summertime cake, but I just made it for my birthday & think it would work cute as a valentine's day cake too. I made half a cake mix into a one-layer heart shaped pan (the rest I used for cup cakes.) Then I mixed the quart of softened ice cream, lemonade and red food coloring with a beater and spread it on top of the cake. I almost stopped here because the swirled ice cream was so pretty. But I had a small container of cool whip, so I beat that with the rest of the lemonade and spread that on top. (It looked like the lemonade would curddle the cool whip, but I beat it with a beater & it came out fine). I frosted the cake with that & added red sprinkles on top. This came out more of an ice-ream cake since it only had one layer of cake. Someone who is used to buying ice-cream cakes at the ice-cream store said, "You made this?" It was so easy my 5 year old grandson helped me do most of it. And it turned out pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I saw this recipe over two years ago at this site and could not wait to try it. I finally got the chance at a dinner party. I served it in souffle dishes for that personal touch. It was like woah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
A good change & great treat in the summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Very good and FANCY looking. I probably added too much extra lemonade concentrate, because it was quite TART! But really easy considering only 3-step process. I used Cool Whip, which was PERFECT. I don't know why you'd want to make it more difficult by doing whipping cream mix. Cool Whip keeps it a clean, fresh taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States