Lemon and Herb Risotto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Very different, and good. I made it the night before and served it cold the next day. I also really liked how it tasted warm, with the cheese all melty, before I baked it. You could eat it just like that, too. I had a hard time getting it out of the pan and recommend lining the bottom of your pan with parchment paper to make this easier. I think I would take this to a summer cookout; its nice and refreshing for a hot day and something different from potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I LOVE Risotto so I couldn't wait to try this. DO use Italian Arborio Rice for this and all risotto dishes. I also add the chicken broth (heated) in about 3 amounts as it helps to soak. I followed the recipe exactly and used a springform pan. (Next time I'll try parmesan cheese instead) I made two and the first one I did not cook long enough so when I took it out it was not a beautiful brown color. The second worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe for this dish for years. I used to buy these cold from an Italian cafe. I adapted the recipe to their version- using a muffin pan to make individual cakes. I also threw in some corn kernels and chopped fresh asparagus and finally, drizzled with balsamic vinegar and served with a side salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I had something like this in a restaurant and this recipe was so close! I used 1/2 parmesan 1/2 mozzarella. I would definitely make this again and my husband asked me for the recipe to make it at the firehall so I know he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissaLissa
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used this recipe as a side dish to bring to a pig roast. Awesome recipe...everyone kept asking for the recipe. My husband was bummed that there wasn't any left to bring home. Instead of using leaks I used green onion. I also added garlic and ginger. I baked the rice in a muffin pan to get individual servings. I will definitly being cooking this again for my dinners at home as well as a side dish or appetizer to bring to gatherings. View the pics to see how these turn out when baking in the muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissaLissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I saved this recipe last year. My father birthday was yesterday and I finally found an opportunity to use this recipe. I wanted to make something light, and bright to combat the incredibly sad weather we are having on the east coast right now… WOW this recipe did not disappoint. I was so impressed. This tasted like awesome slow made risotto and it was supper easy. I love risotto and I will probably never make the slow stove top version again… Why waste the time? Let the oven do the work! I doubled the recipe, but still used the same sized pan. It turned out light and fluffy. The leftovers were the perfect light lunch. I still have all the ingredients and I am going to make more of this latter this week… Everyone asked for the recipe because it was so super easy and so super good. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Love this recipe! Great for a luncheon. I omitted the chives, and used cilantro instead of parsely. Also, you can change the chicken stock to vegtable stock and make a great vegetarian dish. It never really got crispy and cutable for me until I removed the foil and let it cook ~10 minutes without the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted a green onion for the leek and used a provolone/mozza/parmesan mix as well as freshly grated parmesan and it turned out really well! I will bake it for longer next time, as the middle was not quite set after half an hour. It was also very good (perhaps even better) cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe. My family really enjoyed, even the two "rice haters"! When I flipped the pan over, it did stick a little, but I think it was still a little to warm when I did it. The next time I make this, I might add a little lemon juice to the mix to give it a little zip of flavor. If not, serve with the garnished lemon wedges and suggest your guests squeeze a little on their portion. It is almost like chicken lemon rice soup without the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Actually used risotto for the dish and since I forgot mozzarella at the store substituted parmesan. In the interest of time decided to serve as risotto and not bake it, it was wonderful and a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States