Lemon and Herb Risotto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Very different, and good. I made it the night before and served it cold the next day. I also really liked how it tasted warm, with the cheese all melty, before I baked it. You could eat it just like that, too. I had a hard time getting it out of the pan and recommend lining the bottom of your pan with parchment paper to make this easier. I think I would take this to a summer cookout; its nice and refreshing for a hot day and something different from potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe. My family really enjoyed, even the two "rice haters"! When I flipped the pan over, it did stick a little, but I think it was still a little to warm when I did it. The next time I make this, I might add a little lemon juice to the mix to give it a little zip of flavor. If not, serve with the garnished lemon wedges and suggest your guests squeeze a little on their portion. It is almost like chicken lemon rice soup without the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very good. I made it vegetarian with vegetable stock instead of chicken. It was tasty and everyone enjoyed it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted a green onion for the leek and used a provolone/mozza/parmesan mix as well as freshly grated parmesan and it turned out really well! I will bake it for longer next time, as the middle was not quite set after half an hour. It was also very good (perhaps even better) cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe for this dish for years. I used to buy these cold from an Italian cafe. I adapted the recipe to their version- using a muffin pan to make individual cakes. I also threw in some corn kernels and chopped fresh asparagus and finally, drizzled with balsamic vinegar and served with a side salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I LOVE Risotto so I couldn't wait to try this. DO use Italian Arborio Rice for this and all risotto dishes. I also add the chicken broth (heated) in about 3 amounts as it helps to soak. I followed the recipe exactly and used a springform pan. (Next time I'll try parmesan cheese instead) I made two and the first one I did not cook long enough so when I took it out it was not a beautiful brown color. The second worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I typically like unusual dishes but this didn't really do much for me. It wasn't bad but I don't think I would make it again. It never really "baked". At 35 minutes it wasn't browned or firm at all so I left it in longer but all that did was make the edges VERY crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I had something like this in a restaurant and this recipe was so close! I used 1/2 parmesan 1/2 mozzarella. I would definitely make this again and my husband asked me for the recipe to make it at the firehall so I know he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This recipe came out really well and was easy to put together. The only thing I would change next time would be to use kitchen scissors to cut the leek stems crosswise because they were too long and I had to twirl the pieces around my fork like they were spaghetti in order to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Love this recipe! Great for a luncheon. I omitted the chives, and used cilantro instead of parsely. Also, you can change the chicken stock to vegtable stock and make a great vegetarian dish. It never really got crispy and cutable for me until I removed the foil and let it cook ~10 minutes without the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States