Lemon and Cilantro Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to prepare. I altered the recipe some based on others' suggestions. I zested one very large lemon instead of 6. I also roasted some fresh garlic in the oil before adding the shrimp. I also added a splash of white wine. I served it over gluten free pasta. Dish tasted wonderful and tasted like I'm a more talented chef than I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I actually made this twice - the first time, the shrimp I had on hand were 26-30 count, hardly "jumbo", and the proportions seemed off, of course. The second time I used 13-15 count shrimp, and it worked much better. This was also the first time I had ever zested lemons, which I'd been avoiding it for a long time (and I even bought a Microplane grater). The results grew on me with the second batch. It's a somewhat elegantly-tasting dish, and looks attractive. I served it on a bed of pasta (angel hair the first time, I think, and fettucine the second time). So much lemon zest is a little bit unusual to have in a dish, but it worked for me. And I thought 2 cups of cilantro was a lot (I used lightly-packed cups, so one bunch covered both preparations), but it does "cook down" a little. Aside from the slightly-tedious step of zesting 6 lemons, this was a pretty nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
As written this recipe barely makes it to a 3 star recipe. I made a few changes to it so we did enjoy this meal. First off, I zested one lemon only - 6 would have been way too much lemon! I cut back on the cilantro as well - I cut up about 1/2 cup and that was more than enough. I also added some garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Served it over pasta, and we melted butter to pour over it as it seemed sort of dry. Used more parmesan cheese at the table. I might make this again, and if I do I will also pour some white wine into the mix for some added flavor and liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Flavour explosion! I was also put off by the number of lemons that were required in the original recipe and so I scaled it back a lot. I zested 1.5 lemons and then only squeezed juice directly onto the finished product from 1/2 a lemon (probably used half of the half). I also tossed in 1 small onion and 1 fresh minced garlic clove into the oil before adding any other ingredients. I added 1 tsp of Asian Chili-Garlic Sauce to the shrimp in the bowl as well. Served over long grain white rice. In the end...a dollop of sriracha sauce on the side is just what this dish asked for. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this exactly as written, including all the lemon zest (I used the juice from those lemons in another recipe). I served this over pasta and it turned out great. Depending on how much pasta is used, an extra splash of olive oil may be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
It was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I found this recipe pretty easy and my husband loved it. Very tasty! I toasted some garlic in oil and then added the shrimp. I used rice instead of pasta and fried it up a little with the shrimp just before it was finished. I also used the zest of 2 lemons, 6 would be overkill in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good stuff over fresh baby spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great dish. My wife & I love it. Fast & easy can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
An excellent base recipe for a pasta topper - but somewhat bland, and SUPER lemony as-is. I added a shake of garlic powder and some shredded parmesan (not the powdered stuff); that bumped it up to EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States