Lemon Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
While I'm sure this bread is perfectly delicious on its own, the couple of changes I made took this to stand out memorable! First, don't beat the zucchini with the oil, sugar and egg. Just add it to that mixture, then stir in the flour mixture till blended. I used a full tablespoon of lemon zest, and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Once the bread was done, I let it cool in the pan 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I made a glaze of 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1/4 cup lemon juice. I heated it till boiling to dissolve the sugar, then removed it from the heat. I removed the bread from the pan and brushed on the glaze, continuing to reapply it as it was absorbed. (Didn't poke holes in the top as I didn't want HOLES in the top!) This glaze made a beautiful, shiny top, and infused the bread with both moisture and incredibly delicious lemon zing! Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
We loved this recipe. I made a few changes, because I wanted to make it super guilt free. Used whole wheat flour in place of white, instead of the oil and white sugar, I used 1/4 cup honey (gave it a wonderful, homey smell and taste), 1/4 brown sugar (a little less...I don't like it too sweet) and added chopped pecans. I have also tried adding 1 1/2 cups shredded carrot, which also turned out great. Fool-proof, delicious and easy to make substitutions. I love it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Just as wonderful the second time I made it! Should have followed my own advice & doubled the recipe.Because I love lemon and cinnamon, I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. Thanks REBECITA: a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe, I have added lemon zest to my zucchini bread for years. The only changes I did make was to substitute the oil with applesauce and add a quarter cup of chopped walnuts. Still very delicious, moist and much less fattening!! Thanks Rebecita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This bread turned out soo good!! It's one of the best I've had, but I did put a little more zucchini in the second batch, and it has a much better flavor!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I loved this! I made it as muffins, some mini (cooked 10-12 minutes) and some regular sized (cooked 20-22 minutes) In some of them I added pecans and craisins, some I used glaze on and some not, and added 3/4 cup grated carrot to the recipe once when I made it, substituted 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce once....good any way you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
AWESOME! What a great idea adding lemon zest. My hubby and I agree that this is the best zucchini bread we've ever had. I added a little vanilla and chopped walnuts to the batter, then made a lemon glaze to pour over the bread as soon as it came out of the oven. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I love this recipe. I added shredded carrot and also 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper to make the bread subtly spicy. Also substituted applesauce and whole wheat flour. This got rave reviews at a party I brought it to, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is definitely a keeper! I like alot of cinnamon so I used 2 teaspoons instead of 1. I also used about 4 teaspoons of lemon zest and 2 Tbsp of lemon juice. I thought this was a perfect combination and will make this often. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Love the cirus twist! Added 1 cup chopped walnuts, and the zest of one large lemon. (easier to measure when using a handheld grater) perfect summer breakfast compliment for my usual coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States