Lemon Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG, this is soooo yummy! I like my pumpkin/banana/zucchini breads to be super-moist and not too "bread-y," so I used 2 small zucchini (about 1/2 cup more than the recipe calls for) and substituted unsweetened applesauce for half the oil...I didn't measure the lemon zest either, just zested one whole lemon. YIKES! Utterly, sinfully, irresistably delicious! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe; I will never need to search for another! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I didn't have lemon zest, but this seemed like a good base recipe so I thought I'd give it a try. I also liked that this is proportioned for one loaf. I substituted brown sugar for the white, used 1/2 cup multigrain flour with 1 cup unbleached AP flour, and added 1/2 cup chopped frozen cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. My zucchini was about 1 cup drained, after defrosting (I grate it and freeze it in one cup measures when in season). It took 1 hour at 350F to bake fully, in an 8 x 4 pan. The loaf has a nice texture, not heavy or too dense, and the cranberries offset the sweetness, which I'm guessing the lemon zest would do as well. I will definitely try this one again and use the lemon zest, and maybe throw in some blueberries or raspberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was really good, The whole family loved it! The lemon gives it a good zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My kids love this zucchini bread and they are extremely picky eaters. I do not keep lemon zest on hand, so i just add a little lemon juice to it. Also, I have found that if I totally shred the zucchini in the food processor, vs just grating it, the bread comes out much moister. I shred the zucchini so much that it looks like mush and you can see the fluids. Makes the bread very very moist. If you want to make this recipe even lower fat than it already is, you can replace 1/2 the veg oil with applesauce and you can not taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe!!!! I added 1 box instant vanilla pudding foe additional moistness, I will add this to recipes that I will make over and over again! Thanks for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Really good! I will use more lemon zest next time...but great flavor. Love the lemon glaze from a previous rater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Excellent flavor, will make it again for sure. Only problem I had it was very short I think I will bake in a small pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is yummy. I added the zest and juice of one whole lemon and threw in some extra zucchini, the extra moisture caused the need for a slightly longer baking time. I love the freshness that the lemon adds. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time and it came out so delicious. My 9 yr old son and 4 yr old daughter both loved it so much that I need to make more. Best of all, I did not have to let them know that zucchini was in the recipe. This is a recipe that I will never let go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I took the advice of naples34102 and used a full tbsp of zest and made her glaze for the top. This was outstanding! Plenty sweet for me. There's so much flavor from the lemon, but not too much and not bitter at all. I highly recommend this recipe with the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States