Lemon Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Dee-licious. Moist (a cup of oil makes that a no-brainer), lemony, but not too lemony, and prettily flecked with green zucchini. I omitted the nuts because I didn't want their distracting flavor here. Good call, for us anyway, as this cake has a very delicate flavor, because it's not burdened with spices typically associated with zucchini breads/cakes. I baked this as little cakes in small Bundt pans and gave them a lemon glaze of a cup of powdered sugar and 2 T. lemon juice - perfect to enhance that fresh, tart lemon flavor. (Important note: there is NOT enough batter here for a standard size Bundt pan. I know, because I tried - then dumped it out and filled small Bundt pans 2/3 full instead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is a yummy way to use up some zucchini. I did substitute most of the oil with applesauce. The whole family enjoyed this one and I'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee and it came out great. I used a bundt pan as suggested by another baker here. Highly recommend it if you need to get rid of some extra zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Hi i made this in a loaf pan and also in a muffin tin. I made it with whole wheat flour and after they came out I put a lemon glaze on top: 1 cup powdered sugar + 2 tbls lemon juice. I love it and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
As a cake it is ok. A little too much oil for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I added a cup of fresh blueberries. Very light - not a dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Not a strong lemon taste. Kinda cakey--not the dessert bar I thought it would be. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good recipe. A hit with everyone!!!! cyndee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Not lemon-y enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
When one of my favorite cooks on this site loved this recipe with a full cup of oil, I used the full cup. And, the only thing I did do differently was to throw a half lemon in my food processor (since it was out for the zucchini) rather than juicing and zesting a lemon for the lemon ingredients - I ultimately had 1/4 C of lemon contents, the same as the recipe requires. The cake is light and flavorful, but it does not need a full cup of oil! My oil was new (I used canola) and although it doesn't have an oily taste, it is too wet after 60 mins of baking in a 10 cup bundt pan. It is fully baked, but I feel that 2/3 or 3/4 C oil would be just fine in the future. I will make this again with that one change. The lemon flavor is great using this process - it's from another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States