Lemon Whippersnappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Followed others suggestions and they turned out great! Everyone loved them. I did find if you roll all the dough at one time into the balls then you do not have to worry about refridgeration between batches. However do spray with PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRADEE8U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I really reall loved these. They were soft and gooey and had a wonderful flavor. I left mine sit overnight, and baked them the next evening. Make sure when you are making the cookie balls, that you put the dough in the fridge between batches to keep it cool, it makes it easier to work with. There are a few things to be aware of, and they are some things that these were given low ratings and reviews for by others. They are messy, expect it. Especially once the powdered sugar starts flying around. The batter is very very gooey and can be difficult to handle. I tried a couple of things while I was rolling them into balls. First I dusted my hands with powdered sugar, which helped, but only for a cookie or two. What I found that really worked though, was to spray my hands with a light coating of PAM spray. It didn't really cause any issues with baking, in fact, I think it made the powdered sugar stick a little better without baking into the cookies, and was easy to clean off. I was only putting about 9 cookies in at once, and one spray lasted until that last cookie. Don't be put off by the messy aspect, these cookies are very good and fairly easy, and worth the effort and cleanup. Cleanup really wasn't that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This cookie recipe comes from a Joanne Fluke book about a baker name Hannah Swensen who owns a cookie shop and solves mysteries. All her books have great cookies recipes in them. You need to check out her books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Well, I made 'em. My boss says they are the best cookie she's ever had. Now, like most of you, I consider a recipe a guideline and can, very seldon, stick to the original. I STRONGLY recommend these additions: 1tsp Lemon Emulsion (or extract), the zest of one lemon AND I added two small bags of dried wild blueberries; a wonderful addition, if I do say so myself. You might want to leave them in a couple extra minutes. Since, I've made this with an orange cake mix and added orange extract, zest of one orange and chocolate chips. I'm glad I added the extract and zest because it balanced out the richness of the chocolate chips. Thank you, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These are the best cookies EVER! My mom was infamous for these back in the 70s-90s and since then, I have taken over her realm, ha. While building our dream home in '05 I made these SEVERAL TIMES for the contractors building our home, and out of all the baked items I fed them, these were their favorites. Still to this day when these same guys come back to provide maintenance, etc. they always mention my awesome lemon cookies. So here's the key to these "pain in the kiester to make" cookies: Always use Duncan Hines Supreme Lemon Cake Mix. I've never refrigerated the dough. I've never used my hands to touch the dough to form balls. I use 2 spoons to form the balls (takes 2 seconds per ball) then transfer the balls (via spoon) to a large bowl containing the powdered sugar. After throwing in about 12 dough balls (remember, large bowl) I take 2 more spoons (designated for just this process) and toss them lightly in the powdered sugar. Then spoon them onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets (I ONLY USE AIR-BAKE! For EVERY kind of cookie I make.) and pop them in the oven. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurDeLicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These are a family favorite! Have a niece that is gluten free, so here are my changes for g/f. 1 box Betty Crocker g/f cake mix, 1 pkg lemon Jello pudding, 1 egg, 1 complete container Cool Whip, zest of 1 lemon, powdered sugar. 350 deg, 8 minutes. Soft, and a little grainy in texture, but better than nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
What a sticky mess! They taste good, but I found them difficult to handle & roll. I had to keep rinsing my hands in warm water to keep them from sticking. Probably won't bother with these again. Caroline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Couldn't possibly be a worse recipe anywhere! Made one batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These are great and loved by my family. I've made them with both lemon (Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme) and chocolate (store brand). The consistency of the batters was different, but the end result was great for both. Everytime that I've made these, I've used a full 8 oz tub of Lite Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States