Lemon Whippersnappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This is now a favorite at my house. My husband loves them, and I am constantly being asked for the recipe. They are easy, quick and taste amazing. I used Fat Free cool whip, to reduce the calories, and cannot tell the difference. I now keep the lemon cake mix on hand at all times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I made these for my father-in-law who loves lemon and he devoured them. They didn't even last the whole weekend! I used a little bit more cool whip (the entire 8 oz container). It is important to chill the dough even between batches because the dough gets pretty sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Delicious but tempermental little cookies. I love the flavor of these as they are not too sweet, but they need to be watched closely so that they don't get too done or not done enough. Maybe I should use parchement paper as they almost always stick to my good nonstick baking sheets. Still, they are wonderful when the turn out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a family favorite as well! The last time I made these I bought 1 container of cool whip and only 1 box of lemon cake mix but when getting home found out I needed more cookies. So I used half of the carton of cool whip, which is a cup and half and they stilled turned out wonderful. They weren't as runny and I didn't have to freeze or cool the batter to make it usable.(they were still sticky) Luckily I had a chocolate cake mix on hand to make a 2nd batch with the other half of the container of cool whip.....and they went over with rave reviews. This year for Christmas I'm making them with spice cake mix and another batch with red velvet cake mix to take to a cookie exchange. My children love the spice ones better then the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Made this recipe exactly as stated and if you like very lemony cookies that are chewy, you will love these. I will be bringing these for a Christmas party, so currently don't have other feedback. My only complaint is that the dough was terribly sticky and messy to work with, even after refrigerating overnight. I took someone else's advise and sprayed my hands with Pam cooking spray to help with the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Made these as directed and they were very good although a bit to sweet for my tastes.While baking the second half of the batch,I decided NOT to roll them in the powdered sugar and they came out fantastic! Great with coffee. Also I sprayed my hands with a light coating of vegetable oil spray and it eliminated 99 % of the stickiness. This is a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Definitely put in the refrigerator for a few hours before baking - much easier to handle. Everyone that's tried these cookies loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My first batch went into the oven and after tasting one, i didn't even bother baking the rest. I never had cake mix cookies before nor have i ever made them. I actually made these for my sis who likes anything lemon. Didn't even bother giving them to her. These were also very hard to handle. Dropping them into the powdered sugar then rolling into balls helped. Definitely wont be making cake mix cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very refressing taste. Extremely light and fluffy cookies. Never had softer. Almost like they will melt in your mouth. My suggestion though is to put the powdered sugar on a plate and drop spoonfuls of the chilled mixture onto it and then roll it around the plate to make a ball while covering it in the sugar. If you try to roll it into a ball and then in the powdered sugar all you get are both hands covered in sticky dough and no cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I make these every Christmas and have done so for years! You can also change the flavor by using different flavors of cake mix: chocolate, strawberry, cherry, orange (especially good!), pineapple, etc. The dough is a little difficult to handle at times (I only scoop a little more than a teaspoon at a time) but dipping them in the confectioner's sugar and rolling them helps with the stickiness. I am always asked for the recipe and have made them so often that I have memorized it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States