Lemon Whippersnappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Perfect as written. These taste like lemon bars with a very, very thin crust - sweet, tart, gooey, and delicious! Spray a tiny bit of Pam on your hands so the dough doesn't stick when rolling the balls. I had the best results when I alternated between two cookie sheets...with two pans in the oven at the same time, they didn't bake evenly. After they are just barely tan on the edges, take the cookies of the oven and let them sit on the pan for a minute or two to continue cooking and solidify a little more before you transfer to the wire rack. I am going to make these again and again to get my lemony fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
So easy and so delicious! I used Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix and cooked for 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Dough was incredibly sticky and hard to handle, even after thorough chilling, and the only way it could be shaped was to drop sticky globs directly into the powdered sugar. Totally not impressed with the taste - too sweet - or the texture - soft and crumbly. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These were great..easy, and tasty. My 17 year old son said they were "sinful" because he couldn't stay away from them. I'm anxious to try other cake batter flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This cookie is amazing!!! It comes out soft and chewy with a delicious lemon flavor that is not overpowering. In the words of my husband, "This one is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
You won't be sorry you tried this recipe! A few suggestions - before forming dough into balls, coat fingertips in powdered sugar then dip dough. Then roll dough between palms to form into balls. After baking, store in food storage bag in freezer until ready to eat. These cookies are delicious and extra fun to do with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used a stawberry cake mix and added 1 tsp. of strawberry extract so I would have pink cookies for a baby shower. Chilled the dough overnight but it was still very sticky. Used a Pampered Chef 1 tsp. sized cookie scoop to drop the dough onto the cookie sheet which I lined with parchment paper that made it easier to remove them when they were done. Simple, easy, tasty cookie. 4/15/10 Made them today using a spice cake mix and added 1 tsp. of maple extract. 1 Grandkid liked them but every one else gave the spice ones a thumbs down. Have a pineapple cake mix and lemon to try next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Made these as directed and they were very good although a bit to sweet for my tastes.While baking the second half of the batch,I decided NOT to roll them in the powdered sugar and they came out fantastic! Great with coffee. Also I sprayed my hands with a light coating of vegetable oil spray and it eliminated 99 % of the stickiness. This is a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I have been making these for several years, and they are always a crowd pleaser! I love how there's no real measuring to do.Note: use spoons to drop the dough directly into the sugar, to keep things a little tidier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I have been making it for 20 plus years. I use chocolate cake mix and call them Chocolate Krinkles. The dough is very sticky. Using a cookie scoop is helpful, but the finished product is so delicious, who cares about the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States