Lemon Whippersnappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I did a batch with Lemon cake mix and a chocolate. both were good but i ended up cooking 5 min longer. they did not seem like they were cooked and still after cooling had a gooey feeling. maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon1472003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Made this recipe exactly as stated and if you like very lemony cookies that are chewy, you will love these. I will be bringing these for a Christmas party, so currently don't have other feedback. My only complaint is that the dough was terribly sticky and messy to work with, even after refrigerating overnight. I took someone else's advise and sprayed my hands with Pam cooking spray to help with the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wonderchick1
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This cookie has been a family recipe used for decades. I have made them with pretty much every flavor of cake mix out there, the lemon and strawberry are my favorites. Last year I even won the cookie cook off at work with it, where people who don't even like lemon LOVED the cookie! I am asked constantly to bring some in as well. Hint for keeping the stickiness down: Drop the spoonful of dough into the powdered sugar, using only one hand to cover the doughball first and then rolling in the sugar. The other hand should be used to push the dough off the spoon (so one wet ingredient hand and one for dry). Also- keep the dough refrigerated between batches in the oven. This dough should be kept cold or it won't crackle and spread. Edited to add: I won the cookie bake off at work again this year with these cookies. Everyone raves about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderchick1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very refressing taste. Extremely light and fluffy cookies. Never had softer. Almost like they will melt in your mouth. My suggestion though is to put the powdered sugar on a plate and drop spoonfuls of the chilled mixture onto it and then roll it around the plate to make a ball while covering it in the sugar. If you try to roll it into a ball and then in the powdered sugar all you get are both hands covered in sticky dough and no cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I love these cookies! I'm not the most skilled baker, and these were very easy. I baked my first batch for 10 min, and they had a little browning on the bottom. 9 min was the perfect amount of time. They were light, soft, and airy. Delish! Can't wait to try it with a strawberry cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These cookies did not turn out for me. I'm not sure what it was, but they were a flat sticky mess. I didn't care for the flavor all that much either. Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Good, but very sticky. When they came out of the oven they were still really gooey, and I kept cooking them just a bit longer to see if they would firm up at all. They turned out well, if not a little chewy. I'll make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The dough was very sticky but that didn't bother me much. 9 minutes was already almost too long of a baking time for the cookies. They came out extremely soft and i had the most difficult a time getting them off. It literally took me about 7 minutes trying to scrape off the cookies from the cookie sheet. They didn't have the white patches of powdered sugar like in the picture. However the taste was fine. Still, thank you very much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmaf02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Messy, too sweet and you can tell it is from cake mix. I love to bake but never will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
After making the cookie dough I thought to myself the cookies better be really good or I will never make them again... the dough is super thick and sticky, a bit hard to mix up. Sticks to cookie scoop and to hands (make sure to spray hands w/ cooking spray or coat hands in conf. sugar). However... the cookies are super scrumptious and very much worth dealing with the sticky dough. The cookies are nice and soft and just sweet enough. I can't wait to try out the recipe with other cake mixes... next up I'm going to try coconut cake mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States