Lemon Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm giving this four stars since (like other reviewers mentioned) the proportion of ingredients seems really off. After reading the other reviews, I made some adjustments and then it was a 5 star dinner for us. My husband loved it so much that he was already asking when we could have it again before he even finished the meal. Even my 2 and 4 year olds loved it. I used only 1/2 cup flour. I used half of the amount called for of each of the spices. I juiced two lemons for the "marinade" and grated the zest from one of the lemons for the spice mix and one for the juice mixture. This was the perfect amount for five smallish trout fillets. They fried up nicely and the flavor was excellent. The only change I would make next time is to use slightly less salt, it wasn't necessary on top of the nice lemon flavor and other spices. I did saute the leftover lemon juice with some butter to drizzle over rice, which was a nice touch. All in all a great meal and we will definitely have it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It is an easy recipe. I find trout needs some zing, so halved the flour and used the indicated amount for all the other ingredients added to the flour- the result was very good. The recipe makes loads of the flour mixture - lots to store and use another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
5* with the following minor changes, after reading reviews & making this recipe twice: Rinse & pat fish dry so coating will stick. Only need 1/2 tablespoon canola oil & 1/2 tablespoon butter, for frying (or it's too greasy). For 2½ lbs. of trout fillets, reduce flour to 1 cup but keep other spice quantities the same & add 1 pinch of garlic powder to flour mixture. Omit lemon zest & just soak in lemon juice longer (max. 1/2 hour in fridge). Still makes twice as much flour mixture so I put 1/2 in a shallow casserole dish for dredging & store the other 1/2 in a plastic bag, for future use. Served with buttery, parsley baby new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delicious. I was looking for a recipe for some trout fillets and this was just the ticket. Read the other reviews and decided to cut the flour from 4 cups down to 1 cup. I still had more than half of the flour mixture left over! I wonder if it's not supposed to be 1/4 cup rather than 4 cups. (???) I did not have the lemon zest on hand, so I omitted it and soaked the trout for a bit longer in the lemon juice. It tasted perfectly delicious, so don't be afraid to modify the flour mixture based on what you have on hand. I will definitely be making this again - it got big thumbs up from the family. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe was tasty and easy enough for a weeknight. I love it! This was my first time cooking trout and my boyfriend has already asked me to make it again later this week! It went really well with pine nut couscous too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Good and Simple. Just what I needed for a Tuesday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
the ingredients were excellent together! the measurements, WAY OFF! for 2 trout filets i used @ a half-cup of flour. i love lemons so i used 2 large lemons. matbe a hair of zest and rocked this in a large cast iron pan. i used real butter and a touch of olive oil. they were excellent filets. certainly will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have made this recipe several times now, and I would give it five stars except, like others, I think it turns out much better if the ingredients are adjusted. Like many, I use only 1/2 cup flour, and there is still plenty. I left the rest of the spices the same. I also think the pan should be heated to medium-high rather than medium, as it sears the flour and spices onto the fish much better and brings out the flavors more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I heeded the advice of others and reduced that amount of flour to 1 cup, but I kept the spice amounts the same. For the lemon marinade, I used bottled lemon jucie, but used the lemons from the zesting to squeeze over the fish prior to service. Amazingly tasty. I hate fish, but I loved this dish. We served it with a wild rice mix & fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
After reading reviews, I decided to halve the flour but leave the spices the same. It was still more than enough flour. Served with buttery parslied potatoes and green beans for a quick and tasty weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States