Lemon Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE!! I did change some of the ingredients, but it turned out to be delicious! I use italian bread crumbs with pepper, lemon zest, cayenne pepper, salt and onion powder. And sometimes use salmon fillets instead of trout. I also marinate the fillets for 15-20 min in lemon juice (one lemon). And cook in about 2 tbs garlic-infused olive oil. I do this recipe regularly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
quite good! I've never cooked fish before, and this was easy and tasty. I used 1/2 c flour and halved the spices, and there were still left over dry mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
5* with the following minor changes, after reading reviews & making this recipe twice: Rinse & pat fish dry so coating will stick. Only need 1/2 tablespoon canola oil & 1/2 tablespoon butter, for frying (or it's too greasy). For 2½ lbs. of trout fillets, reduce flour to 1 cup but keep other spice quantities the same & add 1 pinch of garlic powder to flour mixture. Omit lemon zest & just soak in lemon juice longer (max. 1/2 hour in fridge). Still makes twice as much flour mixture so I put 1/2 in a shallow casserole dish for dredging & store the other 1/2 in a plastic bag, for future use. Served with buttery, parsley baby new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I heeded the advice of others and reduced that amount of flour to 1 cup, but I kept the spice amounts the same. For the lemon marinade, I used bottled lemon jucie, but used the lemons from the zesting to squeeze over the fish prior to service. Amazingly tasty. I hate fish, but I loved this dish. We served it with a wild rice mix & fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm giving this four stars since (like other reviewers mentioned) the proportion of ingredients seems really off. After reading the other reviews, I made some adjustments and then it was a 5 star dinner for us. My husband loved it so much that he was already asking when we could have it again before he even finished the meal. Even my 2 and 4 year olds loved it. I used only 1/2 cup flour. I used half of the amount called for of each of the spices. I juiced two lemons for the "marinade" and grated the zest from one of the lemons for the spice mix and one for the juice mixture. This was the perfect amount for five smallish trout fillets. They fried up nicely and the flavor was excellent. The only change I would make next time is to use slightly less salt, it wasn't necessary on top of the nice lemon flavor and other spices. I did saute the leftover lemon juice with some butter to drizzle over rice, which was a nice touch. All in all a great meal and we will definitely have it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Totally agree with other comments. I think it is supposed to be 1/4 cup flour. WAY too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
After reading reviews, I decided to halve the flour but leave the spices the same. It was still more than enough flour. Served with buttery parslied potatoes and green beans for a quick and tasty weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The only changes I made were to cut back on the amounts of flour and lemon zest, and I added a good pinch of garlic powder. Though I overcooked the fish by a few minutes, it turned out phenomenally - nicely blackened, and bursting with flavor. Delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delicious. I was looking for a recipe for some trout fillets and this was just the ticket. Read the other reviews and decided to cut the flour from 4 cups down to 1 cup. I still had more than half of the flour mixture left over! I wonder if it's not supposed to be 1/4 cup rather than 4 cups. (???) I did not have the lemon zest on hand, so I omitted it and soaked the trout for a bit longer in the lemon juice. It tasted perfectly delicious, so don't be afraid to modify the flour mixture based on what you have on hand. I will definitely be making this again - it got big thumbs up from the family. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States