Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I thought it was great, I did not have chicken stock so I used vegetable broth instead, more on that in a minute. Outside of that the only other thing I did different was add the zest from the lemon in the begining and as pointed out in previous reviews used a tsp. of dried thyme. Now as for the vegetable broth I don't think a dish like this needed the extra flavor, next time I make this (which will be soon) I am going to use water and let the lemon and thyme flavors shine through. Overall I served it with steamed artichokes and it was simply fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
If you have a rice cooker, use it for this recipe!! I only gave 4/5 stars because it needed modifications. I used 1 Tbs. of dillweed instead of thyme, and 3-4 Tbs. of lemon juice. Threw all ingrediants in rice cooker, flip the switch and let the cooker do its thing. The rice came out with a slightly sticky texture in which I love, but overall I will definitely will be using this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I DID NOT LIKE THIS AT ALL ....TOO MUCH THYME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I followed other suggestions to use only a teaspoon of dried thyme and the thyme still overpowered the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
i like rice and lemon but this recipe wasn't that good so i had to make it my own. instead of boiling the rice in plain water i boiled it in chicken stock or you can use broth which ever one you like. then instead of the teaspoon or tablespoon use one sprig of fresh tyme and put it in the broth with the rice and take the stick out when done. i seen that on rachel ray, and it worked out great. thanks rachel. try it you will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Very subtle nice lemon flavor. Used it as a way to spice up some plain rice I was making as a side dish. My boyfriend also said he liked it, which doesn't happen much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was really good. I also added 1 tsp of onion powder, and only added about 3/4 tsp of dried thyme. I was almost out of lemon juice, so I used 1 Tbsp of lemon juice and 2 1/2 Tbsp of lime juice. Everyone loved it. My husband said it would be great with dill instead of thyme and served with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I really liked this. I made some changes other reviewers had made. 1 - I used more lemon juice - about 2.5 Tbsp (but I wasn't too exact with that). 2 - I used a random amount of thyme - just eyeballed it - and it was fresh thyme. 3 - I added a bit of garlic powder. This seemed to take a really long time to cook, but I think it was just my warped pan. Really tasty! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Made exactly as written, and the thyme is pretty overpowering. Still, we liked it. Will make again, but with half the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This rice was very good, but the thyme was just a little too strong for my liking. Next time I make it I'll either lessen the amount of thyme (maybe by 1/2) or just skip it altogether. Even so, it was still tasty and goes wonderfully with the Chicken with Lime Butter sauce recipe that can also be found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States