Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I decreased the thyme as others suggested and added a little more lemon juice and I also added garlic and chopped onions to the broth. Make sure you bring it to a boil before you cover and simmer or it will not be cooked all the way after 20 minutes. It was really good and easy and I will probably never make plain rice again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGGSAIDEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Here's a tip for fantastic presentation: In the broth, put a few drops of yellow food colour before adding. The rice really gets a lovely colour and when I garnished it with dried parsely flakes, it looked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We love this rice. Great recipe (with obvious reduction in the thyme as noted by several here including the original chef). I use medium grain rice for a sticky type of rice. And, as someone else suggested, I invert a bowl full of rice on a plate or into another bowl for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I liked this rice a lot - I used brown rice, fresh thyme and bottled lemon juice and it definetely gave it a really nice flavor. I served it with chicken flavored with thyme with a lemon sauce. It all went together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very very yummy rice, when you are in the mood for something more than sticky white rice. Mostly it was the broth that gave it the flavor (I used 1 T FRESH thyme and more than 1 T fresh lemon juice and couldn't taste them), but I liked it. If you have a meat-and-potatoes husband like me, I can assure you he will enjoy it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very easy in a rice cooker and flavorful. When the rice is finished in the pan, add it and all remaining ingredients to the rice cooker. Cooks in about 20 minutes. I reduced the thyme to 1/2t and it seems the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very light and fluffy. I will REDUCE the amount of Thyme to 1 teaspoon. I used low sodium chicken stock and had to sprinkle some salt on the finish product. However, Thank you sooo much for sharing. This is truly a nice touch to plain boring white rice. I will add this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was delicious. I am lucky enough to have found a lemon thyme plant, so I used fresh lemon thyme from my backyard (about 1 1/2 tbsp), plus about 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice. This wa a lovely side dish, and I will make it often. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aussiemum
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I really enjoyed this rice. Perfect side dish for any meal. Will keep making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The lemon and thyme make this rice quite tasty!.. I added some fresh parsley when it was done. Thanks I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States