Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This tastes so good for the small amount of work required.... I just throw everything in the pot and stir, no harder than making regular white rice! The chicken broth & lemon flavor the rice so nicely and the thyme is perfect. I serve this with chicken and seafood dishes all the time as a side, it's always a hit. Doesnt do too bad reheated the next day with the leftovers, either! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Smelled good, but tasted bad. The chicken broth was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Greate recipe. Doubled the lime, reduced the thyme and we all were fine :-) Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
nice idea, especially with wild rice. i give it 3 stars because i made a lot of changes - wild instead of white rice, dill instead of thyme, and then followed the liquid amounts on the wild rice package. the end result was good and went well with the baked salmon dijon, also on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The thyme in the rice was extremely overpowering and I couldn't even taste the lemon. If I do try it again, I'll cut back the thyme to 1 teaspoon and add more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I made this side dish with some modifications, and my husband really enjoyed it that way. First, I served the rice with steak, so I used beef broth instead of chicken. I also sauteed 1 large clove of minced garlic in about 2 tbsp of olive oil before adding the rice. Finally, I cut down the quantity of thyme to about 1 tsp and increased the lemon juice to about 3 tbsp. If you enjoy lightly flavored rice, then this is a nice side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I really liked it because it is easy to substitute other spices for the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I'm gonna give it a 3, because I really only used part of the recipe. I'm gonna post my own version of it. Check it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Amazine Rice! I used long grain and wild rice instead of plain white and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I will make this again but try some of the other poster's ideas for making it more flavorful. It was good but a little bit bland. I would have given it 3 stars, but since my kids ate it, it deserves 4. I plan on using more lemon, some garlic, and italian seasoning next time. I also wondered about using olive oil instead of the butter when sauteeing the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States