Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was just OK for me...though that may be because I used basmati rice. I doubled the lemon & it still didn't have a very strong lemon flavor. I also decreased the thyme & increased the cook time since I was using basmati. I'll try this again using white rice & see if I don't like it better that way...thanks for letting me try it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This tastes so good for the small amount of work required.... I just throw everything in the pot and stir, no harder than making regular white rice! The chicken broth & lemon flavor the rice so nicely and the thyme is perfect. I serve this with chicken and seafood dishes all the time as a side, it's always a hit. Doesnt do too bad reheated the next day with the leftovers, either! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Smelled good, but tasted bad. The chicken broth was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Greate recipe. Doubled the lime, reduced the thyme and we all were fine :-) Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
nice idea, especially with wild rice. i give it 3 stars because i made a lot of changes - wild instead of white rice, dill instead of thyme, and then followed the liquid amounts on the wild rice package. the end result was good and went well with the baked salmon dijon, also on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The thyme in the rice was extremely overpowering and I couldn't even taste the lemon. If I do try it again, I'll cut back the thyme to 1 teaspoon and add more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I made this side dish with some modifications, and my husband really enjoyed it that way. First, I served the rice with steak, so I used beef broth instead of chicken. I also sauteed 1 large clove of minced garlic in about 2 tbsp of olive oil before adding the rice. Finally, I cut down the quantity of thyme to about 1 tsp and increased the lemon juice to about 3 tbsp. If you enjoy lightly flavored rice, then this is a nice side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I really liked it because it is easy to substitute other spices for the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I'm gonna give it a 3, because I really only used part of the recipe. I'm gonna post my own version of it. Check it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Amazine Rice! I used long grain and wild rice instead of plain white and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States