Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this, but with a few adjustments. First, I used lime juice instead of lemon; secondly, I substituted cilantro for the thyme, because I am not big on thyme. Fantastic! Definitely will make this again! Also, this would make a great bast for a lot of the cold rice salads served so often in the summer! Yum-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Terrific recipe with some slight modifications! I increased lemon to 3-4 tbl, reduced thyme to 1 tsp, added 1 tsp onion powder and some fresh garlic. My DH devoured everything left in the pan! I served it with salmon and the lemon was a great accompaniment. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very tasty! Followed suggestion of other reviewers and used more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very nice twist on steamed rice to go with our grilled chicken. I seasoned it up a little more before serving with some garlic and onion powder. This was wonderful the next day with some grated Italian cheese blend and Italian seasoning stirred in. Love the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I think the key to this recipe is determining the right amount of lemon juice to add. Too little and you can't taste any lemon flavor; too much and it gives the rice an unpleasant sour taste. I've found that 3-4 tablespoons works best for me. I also prefer using fresh thyme rather than dried for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I thought it was great. I made it as a sidedish to a heavily flavored chicken dish so the lite flavor was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was ok. I read the reviews and only used 1 tsp. thyme. I couldn't really taste the lemon in this. It was easy to do though. I used brown rice, just increased cooking time to around 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good and so simple to put together using ingredients I usually have on hand. We'll be making more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I love this dish with fish. It is light not overpowering. Sometimes I use fresh sprigs of thyme. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Great recipe just put 1/2 teaspoon of thyme instead of a full tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States