Lemon Syllabub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Very delish! I changed the presentation a little bit. I put sponge cake in the bottom of a parfait cup, then a layer of fresh blueberries, and then topped with syllabub and a few more berries. It was wonderful!!! Although, with the added sugar from the cake and berries, in the future I would reduce the sugar added to the whip cream mixture, as it was quite sweet. Overall though, it was a huge hit, and I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Chilled is the way to go. Note: starts to separate after a day but can be re-whipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was easy, tasty and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I looked like a star when I brought this for a light unique dessert. Easy & wonderful over berries, decorated with flowers from my garden & lemon peel swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Fantastic recipe and so easy! I prepared this following the recipe exactly and it came out wonderfully. I topped fresh raspberries with it and added a sprig of mint and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
When I saw this recipie I thought it sounded interesting but I wasn't sure if it was in a good way or a bad way. I had a dinner with a bunch of foodies and figured I'd subject them to it as an experiment. We all loved it. I also used a dry Riesling (as someone else suggested), fresh lemon juice, and manufacturing cream (40% butterfat). I didn't really notice the nutmeg but it didn't matter. Some of us found it a little on the sweet side and so I would make it with a little less sugar next time (given that someone made it with half sugar/half Splenda, I think slightly less sugar will still stabilize the cream). It sounds like it will be rich and heavy but it comes out very light and perfect for a warm evening and it takes almost no time to make. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was great. I made this for guests and they loved it. I think next time I will try a new flavor maybe orange? This is a very rich dessert a little goes a long ways. My husband suggested using this on top of sponge cake for a flavor maybe next time I make this Ill try that. a simple suprising dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This was delightful! I took the suggestion to use a Riesling & it was a very nice choice. I was going to go w/ a Gewurztraminer (it's very fruity & kinda sweet) but glad I took the advice of the reviewers...the dryness of the Riesling really complemented the sweetness of the dessert. I sprinkled quite a bit of nutmeg on top...it made a wonderful addition. Served it in vintage parfait glasses & garnished w/ a lemon twist but you are going to want to use sherbet glasses if you want 6 servings out of it...I only got four using parfait. Who knew something so simple could be so elegant & have such complex flavors...will have again many times. Like other reviewers, I can't wait to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This has been very popular with guests. I love to serve it when I cook seafood. I pair it with lemon curd, either swirled or layred. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Very good!! I have actually heard and made this recipe before I came upon this one and thought it was quite good! It is a very light and dessert with just enough tartness and sweetness. The perfect LIGHT dessert to top off a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States