Lemon Syllabub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Didn't like it. Probably just my own palate not appreciating the pairing of cream and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent layered with berries. Light, sophisticated, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Does anyone have any suggestions on what type of white wine is the best to use? I used a Chardonnay but thought it might've been better to use something else -- maybe a Pino Grigio or a Soave? Still, it WAS delicious, and fairly "impressive" for serving to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Just great! My cream didn't whip very well so I stuck it in the freezer for a couple of hours. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
just thee best and worth the time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
If you’re going to make and enjoy a syllabub, do it in the real 18th manner. For goodness sake, don’t chill them! Cover the glasses and put them on the counter and wait until they separate. The longer they sit , the more they separate – and that’s a good thing! I’ve kept them for days and they’re fine. No, they’re delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I thought this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was going to a dinner part hosted by a bunch of foodies who drink expensive wine, eat cheese I have never heard of and use the word "palate" in their sentences. Needless to say I didn't want to bring my usual spicy popcorn or deviled eggs. This recipe was super easy and a HUGE hit with the foodies. They now think I'm this amazing dessert chef. Next time I will add a little less sugar - I'm not a huge fan of sweet sweets. It takes a while to whip - I used a hand mixer on low until I got impatient and put in on medium - it didn't seem to hurt it at all. I'm excited to experiment with adding flavors and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is a lovely dessert! Try substituting Limoncello for the white wine, it lends a more subtle hint of alcohol. I also like using double cream (Devonshire) for its richness and serve with a lemon ginger cookie or lemon biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was delicious and so easy! I brought the ingredients over to our hosts home and made it there, everyone loved it! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States