Lemon Syllabub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was simple and tasty. I had left over heavy whipping cream and this was refreshing way to. I was surprised how much the white wine (Chardonnay) added to the flavor. I wound up adding a bit more lemon to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Fabulous easy recipe! I made this for 30 people-I Used Pinot Grigio for the wine and the recipe multiplier. I served it in 5oz plastic shot glasses from Part City garnished with sprigs of fresh lemon balm and a spoon. I put it in the fridge over night and put nutmeg and lemon sprig on right before serving. The tart wine balanced the sugar. Next time...a fresh raspberry in the bottom of the cup !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
My mother has made me syllabub every year on my birthday as long as I can remember (sparkling grape juice replaced the wine) and it has become a cherished memory. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I brought this in for a school presentation in French class and everyone LOVED it. Smash hit my fiends. By high schoolers. Also changed the wine to apple juice. Lol awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This dessert is very sweet. The original 17th century recipe calls for brandy to be used and not to chill it. That way it separates as it's supposed to. Tried this recipe and it was loved by my family and now I make a non-alcohol variety with ginger ale for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
For a non-alcoholic version, you can substitute ginger ale for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious!!! Put on top of brownies. Caught my hubby sneaking it during the middle of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is delightful! Simple and delcious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwestgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I found this syllabub when the dessert I first made for 10 guests turned out a disaster just hours before I was expecting them. I needed to find something quick, easy & light in a hurry. My husband was dispatched at the last minute for more cream & we put together a double quantity of the recipe VERY quickly, put it in the fridge & when I bought it out at the end of the evening it was an absolute triumph. exactly the right light, refreshing taste to finish the fork & finger buffet perfectly. I will definitely be making it again. And I didn't change a thing, it was great just as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very delicious! I like to add a little bit more wine and lemon for flavor. Would definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States