Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Candace Samuelson
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
These are absolutely the BEST lemon cookie I have ever had. Super easy to make and they went great with my tea party. My guest asked if they were store bought! I followed the recipe to a "T" and would not modify it at all! These are a light tasting lemon cookie that I can (unfortunately) eat numerous in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Samuelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I added a lot more lemon extract & some lemon juice, but I like lemon a lot. I found they do better in smaller balls. I've made them with regular flour, but just made them with gluten free flour mix & 1/4 tsp xantham gum & they came out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For part of the extract, I used the juice of a lemon and lemon zest. I also made them into bars by pressing the dough into a 9x13 inch pan and sprinkling with a portion of the allotted sugar, then baked until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I also added another teaspoon of lemon extract (although I used fresh lemon juice) I also added 2 tsp of lemon zest. I colored the sugar topping yellow with food coloring. I prepared 3 trays of cookies, then chilled the remaining dough until they were cooked. Fantastic cookie and no spreading of dough. Chewy and crisp outer edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great flavor, but mine were thin. I measured flour carefully, so I'm guessing it was measured without sifting and possibly settled. Also, a measurement on size (3/4" balls baked best). Walnuts have the shell on 'em in my world, so that was 2". Great cookie if more flour and 3/4" ball was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Doubled the lemon extract and used juice of one lemon-thanks for the tips from other reviewers! Chilled in freezer for 30 minutes - it was good enough to work with and form balls. Wonderful cookie - love the texture. Chose not to roll in extra sugar. Used "Sugar Cookie Glaze" from this site. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These cookies turned out perfect! They have a great lemony flavor and they're sweet but not overly so. I didn't have lemon extract so I did what another review did and used a tbs of lemon juice and a tbs of lemon zest. I also didn't have corn syrup so I just used sugar mixed with water instead. Even with these changes the cookies were still delicious! I'll definitely make them per the exact recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These cookies were just alright. I more than doubled the extract and it still wasn't lemon-y enough. I wish I had some lemon peel to throw in. My boyfriend was totally underwhelmed. I added a lemon glaze and that helped a lot. A lemon frosting might work on these too. I'm not sure if I will try to tinker with this recipe or just move on. The texture was really nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made these for a Victorian Tea Party fundraiser at our local church, and they were a HUGE hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
These turned out delicious! The whole family loved them and I followed ALOHALANI and added 1 tsp of fresh lemon juice. I did add 1 tsp of lemon zest as well and they had the perfect amount of lemon, not to tangy! Please try these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States