Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I added a lot more lemon extract & some lemon juice, but I like lemon a lot. I found they do better in smaller balls. I've made them with regular flour, but just made them with gluten free flour mix & 1/4 tsp xantham gum & they came out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For part of the extract, I used the juice of a lemon and lemon zest. I also made them into bars by pressing the dough into a 9x13 inch pan and sprinkling with a portion of the allotted sugar, then baked until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I also added another teaspoon of lemon extract (although I used fresh lemon juice) I also added 2 tsp of lemon zest. I colored the sugar topping yellow with food coloring. I prepared 3 trays of cookies, then chilled the remaining dough until they were cooked. Fantastic cookie and no spreading of dough. Chewy and crisp outer edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great flavor, but mine were thin. I measured flour carefully, so I'm guessing it was measured without sifting and possibly settled. Also, a measurement on size (3/4" balls baked best). Walnuts have the shell on 'em in my world, so that was 2". Great cookie if more flour and 3/4" ball was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Doubled the lemon extract and used juice of one lemon-thanks for the tips from other reviewers! Chilled in freezer for 30 minutes - it was good enough to work with and form balls. Wonderful cookie - love the texture. Chose not to roll in extra sugar. Used "Sugar Cookie Glaze" from this site. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These cookies turned out perfect! They have a great lemony flavor and they're sweet but not overly so. I didn't have lemon extract so I did what another review did and used a tbs of lemon juice and a tbs of lemon zest. I also didn't have corn syrup so I just used sugar mixed with water instead. Even with these changes the cookies were still delicious! I'll definitely make them per the exact recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These cookies were just alright. I more than doubled the extract and it still wasn't lemon-y enough. I wish I had some lemon peel to throw in. My boyfriend was totally underwhelmed. I added a lemon glaze and that helped a lot. A lemon frosting might work on these too. I'm not sure if I will try to tinker with this recipe or just move on. The texture was really nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made these for a Victorian Tea Party fundraiser at our local church, and they were a HUGE hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
These turned out delicious! The whole family loved them and I followed ALOHALANI and added 1 tsp of fresh lemon juice. I did add 1 tsp of lemon zest as well and they had the perfect amount of lemon, not to tangy! Please try these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are amazing! It's really hard to find a decent sugar cookie; one that's not too crunchy but still tastes great. And these were the perfect blend. I have a lot of friends that don't like lemon flavored cookies, but it's just the right tinge, not too much. A family favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States