Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Great tasting cookie. I used a tsp. of fresh lemon juice, and a tbs. of lemon zest (omitting the lemon extract). Excellent. After trying these, I have also decided to skip the rolling in sugar step, and just dust the cooled cookies with powdered sugar. The powdered sugar will nestle nicely into the surface of this cookie! Even though I made some slight alterations, I give these cookies 5 stars because they are sooo easy to prepare, quick to cook, and are incredibly easy to transport. It's crisp, yet chewy, allowing them to be packaged in any way. Mahalo nui loa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Sweet Fancy Moses!!!!!!!!!!! These cookies are one of THE BEST that has ever come out of my oven! I couldn't believe how fast they were mixed up. We rolled these in a mixture of yellow colored sugar and regular granulated-gave them a nice yellow color with a little sparkle-they are really pretty. The taste is incredible-so light and refreshing. You would never guess that there isn't any real lemon in this recipe. The citrus flavor and the chewy texture of this cookie is fabulous-I will make this over and over! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
What I love about these cookies is that they not only taste great with a great texture, but they also look perfect. They bake into perfect circles. I made these for a birthday party and rolled them in colored decorator's sugar to match our party colors instead of regular white sugar. If you're pressed for time put the dough in the freezer to chill, only takes about 20 minutes. I'm baffled by other reviewers comments about the cookies spreading too much. My only guess is that their dough wasn't chilled enough or they didn't use real butter. I baked mine about 2 inches apart and had room to spare when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
A few key changes brought these up to five star status! I doubled the lemon extract, added a tsp. of fresh lemon zest, and added several drops of yellow food coloring to the wet ingredients. I also made my own lemon sugar to roll them in, by adding lemon extract and yellow food coloring to the sugar! I only rolled the top of the cookie, as I didn't want them to be overly sweet. I didn't have parchment paper, I used cooking-spray and a light dusting of flour on the sheet, and they didn't stick at all. Also, I only had unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients. My dough was easy to handle after 15 minutes in the freezer. This cookie is delicious, and with the changes I added, is a real keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This is the perfect summer cookie, especially here in the Southwest! This cookie is crisp on the edges, soft in the middle, with a very light lemony taste. These began to brown pretty quickly, so I decreased the oven temp a few degrees and baked for 10 minutes. I also made them a little smaller, using rounded teaspoons instead of the larger cookie. They did spread a little, but the tsp size bakes a perfect tea sized cookie. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
These cookies were great! I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used a tablespoon each of lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. Lovely cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These cookies are pretty good, but I like to make them smaller than "walnut size". I used 2 tsp lemon extract, and next time I will add a little more. I suspect that reviewer who complained that these are "too sweet" used the entire 2 cups of sugar in the dough rather than reserving a cup of sugar to roll the dough balls in. This recipe makes very pretty cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I would double, if not triple, the lemon extract. Also, if anyone is wondering why there are discrepancies in the reviews as to the texture: if you want a crisp cookie, use lemon extract, not lemon juice. The acid in lemon juice will react with the baking soda to create a leavening agent, giving you chewy cookies. But, as others have said, these cookies are quite beautiful =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
So good. I add the zest and juice of one lemon and double the lemon extract. Bake on parchment paper (essential) and leave enough room inbetween the cookies, as they spread nicely while being baked. - After they are all totally cooled, I store/single-stack them in a tall, round clear container with a lid. ---> They look wonderful stored fresh that way, but do not last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These cookies are delicious! I am a chocolate lover, so I usually only make chocolate desserts, but these lemon cookies are amazing. My husband really enjoys lemon-flavored treats, and he was eating them right off of the pan as soon as I took them out of the oven! I combined some of the advice from earlier reviews--doubled the amount of lemon extract, added one tsp of vanilla, and the zest of one small lemon--and they are absolutely fantastic. Thanks, Tamme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States