Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Lovely cookies! I added some lemon zest and doubled the extract as recommended. Also dipped them in colored sugar before baking - added a little extra pizzaz. One suggestion to those whose cookies came out very flat: chill dough before putting in the oven (just put cookie sheet in the fridge ) for a few minutes before sticking in the oven. AND make your balls a little bigger. I made my first ones small because I prefer smaller cookies - and they were very thin and runny. Then I rolled the balls bigger - the cookies came out the same size - but were thicker - like the photo! Anyway - lovely lemon cookies! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was sorely disappointed with this recipe; my main complaints are that the cookies spread extremely thin and that they came out extremely greasy. They also had a quick burning point--10 minutes was too little, and 11 minutes made them start to burn on the edges, which created an awful burnt butter smell. I was hoping for a thick, chewy cookie, and instead I got something that I would be embarrassed to serve to company. I followed the recipe, so I'm not sure why I had bad results and so many others had great results. I did leave the batter in the fridge for several hours instead of just one, so maybe that had something to do with it. I may try them again at some point, following the instructions to refrigerate for only one hour and watching the baking time very closely. However, I don't recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
So good. I add the zest and juice of one lemon and double the lemon extract. Bake on parchment paper (essential) and leave enough room inbetween the cookies, as they spread nicely while being baked. - After they are all totally cooled, I store/single-stack them in a tall, round clear container with a lid. ---> They look wonderful stored fresh that way, but do not last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachelle
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These cookies are easy and excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting lemon juice/lemon zest for the extract. The juice really gave the cookies a fresh lemony taste that just melts in your mouth. I also added some yellow food coloring to make the cookies lemony in look as well as taste. The result was a beautiful, delicious cookie I would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe a whole bunch of times, and they've been perfect! I've done it both with lemon extract, and substituting fresh lemon zest/juice as well. The longer you leave them in the fridge, the less they'll spread and the more of a sugar cookie texture they'll have. Sometimes I make the dough a day or two ahead, just make sure you let it warm up a bit before trying to use - it gets rock solid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Unfortunately, when I made these, I FORGOT to double the lemon extract when I doubled the recipe. So, they turned out as "Sugar tea cookies with a hint of lemon." They were still delicious: and the texture was perfect! Crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside! I can't wait to make them again (this time with ALL the ingredients), maybe with a citrus or lime drizzle on top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
All in all a pretty good cookie, however I did add an extra teaspoon of lemon extract andf 1/4 teaspoon of lemon zest. They may mellow overnigt and have a little more lemon flavor. but I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! I was really impressed with how these turned out. My whole family liked them (including the four-year-old), and they were all gone within the second day. Fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
All we had in the house was whole wheat flour the first time I made these. I was very worried that they would come out weird but they were delicious anyway. Later I made them with normal all purpose flour. I have to say I actually prefer them with the wheat flour. :) Rolling them in sugar is definitely a must- they were better that way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were delicious! I could, however, tell from the beginning that they'd need more lemon, so I used probably a tablespoon of lemon extract . . . seems like a lot but they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippie-in-training

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States