Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Rachelle
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These cookies are easy and excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting lemon juice/lemon zest for the extract. The juice really gave the cookies a fresh lemony taste that just melts in your mouth. I also added some yellow food coloring to make the cookies lemony in look as well as taste. The result was a beautiful, delicious cookie I would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe a whole bunch of times, and they've been perfect! I've done it both with lemon extract, and substituting fresh lemon zest/juice as well. The longer you leave them in the fridge, the less they'll spread and the more of a sugar cookie texture they'll have. Sometimes I make the dough a day or two ahead, just make sure you let it warm up a bit before trying to use - it gets rock solid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Unfortunately, when I made these, I FORGOT to double the lemon extract when I doubled the recipe. So, they turned out as "Sugar tea cookies with a hint of lemon." They were still delicious: and the texture was perfect! Crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside! I can't wait to make them again (this time with ALL the ingredients), maybe with a citrus or lime drizzle on top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
All in all a pretty good cookie, however I did add an extra teaspoon of lemon extract andf 1/4 teaspoon of lemon zest. They may mellow overnigt and have a little more lemon flavor. but I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow! I was really impressed with how these turned out. My whole family liked them (including the four-year-old), and they were all gone within the second day. Fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
All we had in the house was whole wheat flour the first time I made these. I was very worried that they would come out weird but they were delicious anyway. Later I made them with normal all purpose flour. I have to say I actually prefer them with the wheat flour. :) Rolling them in sugar is definitely a must- they were better that way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were delicious! I could, however, tell from the beginning that they'd need more lemon, so I used probably a tablespoon of lemon extract . . . seems like a lot but they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippie-in-training

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I added some squeezed lemon juice and grated lemon peel instead of extract (about 1 tablespoon peel and 3 tablespoons juice) and made a sugar cookie icing with lemon juice instead of milk. Crazy Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Love it, but it could use a stronger lemon flavor. As is, it tastes much more like a regular sugar cookie. I'm anxious to try it again using lemon extract, juice and a little zest, like others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These don't taste like lemon cookies, they taste like your standard sugar cookie. I used 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup vegetable oil spread. I would suggest rolling in sugar before baking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States