Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent cookies! The only addition I made is to add some course sugar after rolling in granulated sugar for texture. These cookies are extremely easy to make and are absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
A few key changes brought these up to five star status! I doubled the lemon extract, added a tsp. of fresh lemon zest, and added several drops of yellow food coloring to the wet ingredients. I also made my own lemon sugar to roll them in, by adding lemon extract and yellow food coloring to the sugar! I only rolled the top of the cookie, as I didn't want them to be overly sweet. I didn't have parchment paper, I used cooking-spray and a light dusting of flour on the sheet, and they didn't stick at all. Also, I only had unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients. My dough was easy to handle after 15 minutes in the freezer. This cookie is delicious, and with the changes I added, is a real keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
If you slightly undercook them and layer strawberry gelato with 2 cookies it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Way to sticky to roll into balls had to scoop with a table spoon. somewhat taste like pretzels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
FYI - These do not work well in cookie cutters. They cling to the cutters, are too sticky to move (even cold), and then spread so much in the oven that they just became circles anyway. Delicious, but just form them into balls as the recipe suggests (you don't have to flatten them though). I would've given them 5 stars if they'd stayed thicker (even the balls spread too thin for my preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
After reading several reviews I made just a couple additions. I added 2 tsps lemon extract, the zest of one lemon, and the juice from one lemon. It was perfect. I couldn't imagine leaving it out. Seems it wouldn't have much lemon flavor. Or maybe we are just lemon nuts. :) I didn't have any parchment and just assumed it was stated to use for clean up purposes. I learned with my first batch why it needs it. My cookies stuck to the pan. No biggie, just sprayed the pan with Pam for the remainder. These are very delicate cookies so be gentle with them. Slightly crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Use a cookie scoop for sure and rolling in sugar makes them very pretty and yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Add more extract and some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Lovely cookies! I added some lemon zest and doubled the extract as recommended. Also dipped them in colored sugar before baking - added a little extra pizzaz. One suggestion to those whose cookies came out very flat: chill dough before putting in the oven (just put cookie sheet in the fridge ) for a few minutes before sticking in the oven. AND make your balls a little bigger. I made my first ones small because I prefer smaller cookies - and they were very thin and runny. Then I rolled the balls bigger - the cookies came out the same size - but were thicker - like the photo! Anyway - lovely lemon cookies! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was sorely disappointed with this recipe; my main complaints are that the cookies spread extremely thin and that they came out extremely greasy. They also had a quick burning point--10 minutes was too little, and 11 minutes made them start to burn on the edges, which created an awful burnt butter smell. I was hoping for a thick, chewy cookie, and instead I got something that I would be embarrassed to serve to company. I followed the recipe, so I'm not sure why I had bad results and so many others had great results. I did leave the batter in the fridge for several hours instead of just one, so maybe that had something to do with it. I may try them again at some point, following the instructions to refrigerate for only one hour and watching the baking time very closely. However, I don't recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
So good. I add the zest and juice of one lemon and double the lemon extract. Bake on parchment paper (essential) and leave enough room inbetween the cookies, as they spread nicely while being baked. - After they are all totally cooled, I store/single-stack them in a tall, round clear container with a lid. ---> They look wonderful stored fresh that way, but do not last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States