Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used the lemon juice/lemon zest combination because I didn't have extract, and I think it made them come out thinner then I expected. Next time I would try the recipe as written. Nevertheless, they had a good taste to them...my kids and spouse gobbled these up right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I substituted honey for the corn syrup and used lemon zest and the juice of a small lemon in place of the extract. I slightly increased my flour to make up the difference. Cookies had a great taste, but are slightly tricky to bake. Keep an eye on them, no matter what the timer says. Mine needed a few extra minutes. Highly recommend using the parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These are AWESOME. I didn't have any lemon extract though so I used raspberry extract. I substituted honey for the corn syrup too. Thank your for this recipe. It is definately going in my recipe box. Really you could use any extract in these cookies. I was thinking that orange would be good too. I just realized that I screwed up the recipe! I put BOTH cups of sugar in the dough and they still came out wonderful. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These cookies are fantastic. I used the extract which worked perfect- I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons after reading the other reviews. I decided to roll them out and cut them into heart shapes decorated with edible glitter. Worked fine just needed to chill the dough and roll it out between two sheets of parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
these cookies were just okay for me. . .not nearly lemony enough. I topped with a lemon juice-10x sugar glaze to up the flavour. Also I did them as a drop cookie, without refridgerating or rolling, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are WONDERFUL! I used 2 tsp. of lemon extract because I like a definite "lemony" taste. However, everything stayed the same. It is so good, we ended up making a double batch. They are a nice contrast to the heavier variety of cookies. The kids and I made these for Christmas, but I foresee making these for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe! I doubled it even though this was my first time making these, and they turned out fabulous! So quick and easy to make too. The texture is soft in the middle and crunchy around the edges....just perfect. This will no doubt be a recipe that I will turn to often, as the cookies don't seem to last long at all!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies taste fine but I had a real problem with the form. I made them exactly as the recipe called and knew someone had said they are very flat so I spaced them a good distance apart but the whole tray cooked into a flat thin mass. The next batch I put into muffin tins to see if it would help them keep their shape but they puffed up on the sides with a big indentation in the middle. That would be fine if you wanted to fill it with preserves or something else but I just can't seem to get these to have a normal shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was awesome! It was really easy to follow although I did read the reviews and added 1 more tsp of lemon extract but after I tasted it I would have added another tsp. For me I love tasting a strong lemon taste in my lemon cookies! As for my hubby he doesn't like sweets and lemon stuff but he loved this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Made them for my family cookie exchange and they were a hit!! I used 1 tbls. of real lemon juice and 1 tbls. of lemon zest and they were so yummy!! A lot of reviewers said that they came out flat well I found out once you roll the dough into balls and then the sugar, place them back into the fridge until they firm up again or for 15 mins, then throw them in the oven and they only take 10 mins to bake and come out much thicker, but with the same chewyness!!! So make sure they aren't at room temp when you put them in the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States