Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These were good. I will make them again and next time, use the lemon extract. I used lemon juice and couldn't taste much lemon. I followed another suggestion about dusting with powd. sugar after they are done. They have a great texture, and I was amazed that they tasted so good even when I used Smart Start tub margarine, because I was out of butter. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Wonderful, chewy cookies! AS others before me did, I used a T. of fresh lemon juice along with some grated lemon zest since I didn't have the extract. Also, these cookies were quick to make since I ignored the recipe and did not refrigerate the dough. I did, however, use cold butter and threw that in the food processor with the sugar, etc. and the butter being cold kept everything firm. CAUTION: Do NOT throw in the entire amount of sugar listed in the recipe when making the dough. Half of it is supposed to be reserved to roll your dough balls into. (I did not need more than 1/3 of the amount of sugar listed to roll my dough balls into)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
just fabulous! used rainbow sprinkles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhippodesign

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
WOW! Super easy and SUPER DELICIOUS!! My husband is crazy for lemony sweets and LOVES LOVES this recipe (ate almost the whole batch himself!). Followed the recipe as written except for adding about three times the amount (3tsp) of lemon extract (based on previous reviewers suggesting so for more lemon flavor) - still think I could have added even more (for hubby's lemon fetish *winks*). Still a 5-star recipe no matter what! Thanks a bunch for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnJessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very cute little cookies. Not enough lemon flavor for us, and I added a tbs of lemon zest. We love lemon, though. Other than that, I really didn't modify the recipe. I did sub water and brown sugar for the corn syrup, though. I was worried about spreading, but didn't have a problem with it at all. 12 min at 325 was also perfect for these cookies. They end up soft and sweet with a touch of lemon flavor. I'd add a bit less sugar next time and more lemon. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used the lemon juice/lemon zest combination because I didn't have extract, and I think it made them come out thinner then I expected. Next time I would try the recipe as written. Nevertheless, they had a good taste to them...my kids and spouse gobbled these up right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I substituted honey for the corn syrup and used lemon zest and the juice of a small lemon in place of the extract. I slightly increased my flour to make up the difference. Cookies had a great taste, but are slightly tricky to bake. Keep an eye on them, no matter what the timer says. Mine needed a few extra minutes. Highly recommend using the parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These are AWESOME. I didn't have any lemon extract though so I used raspberry extract. I substituted honey for the corn syrup too. Thank your for this recipe. It is definately going in my recipe box. Really you could use any extract in these cookies. I was thinking that orange would be good too. I just realized that I screwed up the recipe! I put BOTH cups of sugar in the dough and they still came out wonderful. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These cookies are fantastic. I used the extract which worked perfect- I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons after reading the other reviews. I decided to roll them out and cut them into heart shapes decorated with edible glitter. Worked fine just needed to chill the dough and roll it out between two sheets of parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
these cookies were just okay for me. . .not nearly lemony enough. I topped with a lemon juice-10x sugar glaze to up the flavour. Also I did them as a drop cookie, without refridgerating or rolling, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States