Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The lemon taste is definitely lacking. Not only did I use 3 tsp. of lemon extract, a whole lemon zested, 1 TBL. of lemon juice, I still could barely taste the lemon! So I went to put in my lemon extract and it spilled! I thought it was a squeeze top but it wasn't. I ended up using 1/2 of the expensive 1 oz. bottle. I am not a huge lemon fan and I really thought I'd have to double the recipe to make up for all the lemon poured in. Well, I kept tasting the batter and it was fine. To sum it up, yes try the recipe, definitely add more lemon, and taste the batter often! I also put in yellow food dye for a better yellow color. I drizzled yellow icing on them too to make them more inticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were sooooo yummy! I made them for my 6 year old sister in law and her cousins and they LOVED them! My bro in law said they were his favorite of my cookies!I did add like 2 tsp of lemon extract for more lemon flavor. I also used self-rising flour in place of the all-purpose and soda and powder and they turned out great. They did not expand much (maybe due to using self-rising flour). I made little "baby" tea cookies...this recipe made like 66 of them!!! Also made a lemon powdered sugar glaze on top....would be even better with a lemon icing!!!! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These cookies are amazing. I added extra lemon extract, plus some lemon zest. Next time I will probable add some lemon juice to cut the sweetness back. They still were really great. They were the first to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaclyn G.
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Made these for a party and they were a hit! I used 1.5 tsp of lemon extract and they still were not very lemony. I might add an extra tsp next time. But they were still delicious! Great alternative to my usual choc chip cookies. Will definitely make again! Edit - Oh yeah, I forgot to add that I did not have corn syrup, so I used honey instead. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The perfect cookie to go with iced tea! Nice and crisp! This will be made again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANAIAH
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Love this recipe! The cookies came out thin and chewy with a subtle lemony flavor. I followed the basic recipe with only a few exceptions. I added 1 teaspoon of lemon zest & a squeeze from 1/2 a lemon to the batter. I omitted rolling them in sugar before baking. After the cookies baked & cooled I frosted them with powdered sugar frosting. [1 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp. lemon extract, 1 drop of red food coloring(to make pink), & 1 tblsp. milk. These cookies would be delicious even without the frosting and just rolled in sugar like the recipe states. They had the pleasant taste of lemonade! Great for a tea party! Thanks...this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Absolutely love these!! Chewy just like I love 'em. Follow the recipe to a T, perfect just the way they are ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2baking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These were good. I will make them again and next time, use the lemon extract. I used lemon juice and couldn't taste much lemon. I followed another suggestion about dusting with powd. sugar after they are done. They have a great texture, and I was amazed that they tasted so good even when I used Smart Start tub margarine, because I was out of butter. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Wonderful, chewy cookies! AS others before me did, I used a T. of fresh lemon juice along with some grated lemon zest since I didn't have the extract. Also, these cookies were quick to make since I ignored the recipe and did not refrigerate the dough. I did, however, use cold butter and threw that in the food processor with the sugar, etc. and the butter being cold kept everything firm. CAUTION: Do NOT throw in the entire amount of sugar listed in the recipe when making the dough. Half of it is supposed to be reserved to roll your dough balls into. (I did not need more than 1/3 of the amount of sugar listed to roll my dough balls into)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
just fabulous! used rainbow sprinkles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhippodesign

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States