Lemon String Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I cooked my string beans in some salted boiling water for a few minutes (3-4 minutes), I used frozen string beans. We like our veggies crunchy so I undercook a little bit and then quickly rinse with cold water. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil. I threw the green beans in a bowl poured garlic and oil over the whole thing and squeezed 1/2 of a fresh lemon and tossed again. Added a tiny bit of salt and it was great. I think 1/4 cup of oil is too much. 2 tablespoons is more than enough. Follow your common sense when cooking and you'll never go wrong. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I think you need to be Italian to really enjoy this dish. My boyfriend's whole family makes a variation of these green beans and they love them. My friend's overweight 13 year old daughter won't eat any vegetables, she told her mom the only ones she can eat are green beans. So I made her a batch and she ate the whole thing! I used 4 garlic cloves and sunflower oil instead of oil (my preference). I also substitute a little white vinegar in place of some of the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Tasty. I use shallots instead of garlic due to allergy. Simple to make. They can be served cold and are quite good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
After reading many reviews that said this recipe was too oily I decided to cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons and I had a little more than a pound of beans. I first boiled the beans in salted water and then rinsed them with cold water. I sauted the garlic in oil and poured it over the beans. They were great with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Love the flavor. I lightly steamed the green beans and then heated up 1/8 cup of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter and garlic in a fry pan. Stir fried the green beans lightly, adding salt and pepper to taste. Topped with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
We did not like these at all. My wife loves lemons and she said to never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
For those who don't like the tartness of the lemon juice, cut down to 1 tablespoon and use the zest of half a lemon. Loads of lemon flavor without the sourness. I also cut down on the olive oil to 2 tablespoons and added a bit of fresh ground black pepper. One of my favorite ways to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I boiled the beans for 10 minutes, removed into a bowl and then covered them in one large lemons juice and garlic salt. I thought they were a great side dish and I didn't even bother with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
We didn't like these (despite my husband being Italian). They were way too oily and just not very good. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States