Lemon String Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
For those who don't like the tartness of the lemon juice, cut down to 1 tablespoon and use the zest of half a lemon. Loads of lemon flavor without the sourness. I also cut down on the olive oil to 2 tablespoons and added a bit of fresh ground black pepper. One of my favorite ways to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
The original recipe was ok. By the time we got to the table, they were cold. I think heating the mixer and pouring right on the beans. Then let it sit for 2-3 min would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary "The Dude"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
After reading many reviews that said this recipe was too oily I decided to cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons and I had a little more than a pound of beans. I first boiled the beans in salted water and then rinsed them with cold water. I sauted the garlic in oil and poured it over the beans. They were great with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Love the flavor. I lightly steamed the green beans and then heated up 1/8 cup of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter and garlic in a fry pan. Stir fried the green beans lightly, adding salt and pepper to taste. Topped with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
As is, I didn't care for the recipe, but I saved the lemon juice/oil mix by adding More lemon juice (I didn't measure), then adding some onion power, adobo, minced garlic,pepper, AND the special addition of organic unrefined brown sugar! That made the mix taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I cooked my string beans in some salted boiling water for a few minutes (3-4 minutes), I used frozen string beans. We like our veggies crunchy so I undercook a little bit and then quickly rinse with cold water. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil. I threw the green beans in a bowl poured garlic and oil over the whole thing and squeezed 1/2 of a fresh lemon and tossed again. Added a tiny bit of salt and it was great. I think 1/4 cup of oil is too much. 2 tablespoons is more than enough. Follow your common sense when cooking and you'll never go wrong. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I boiled the beans for 10 minutes, removed into a bowl and then covered them in one large lemons juice and garlic salt. I thought they were a great side dish and I didn't even bother with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Too lemony...we didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States