Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I think that the directions should have said 30 rather than 3 minutes for baking the lemon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made these lemon bars for a PTO function and another mother made some from another recipe. These were a HUGE hit and no one ate the others. And yes you do cook the topping for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
These were so easy to make...except the 5/8 cup lemon juice thing. Not really thinking, I put in a little less than 1/2 cup of lemon juice. Now that I think of it (hours later) I realize that it should be a little MORE than a half cup...darn! I love my lemon flavor so I wish I would've put the whole amount in. I tried them, and they are good, just could use more lemon flavor. I will try making these again. I'm taking them to a potluck so hopefully other people will think they're good too!***** Made again using the full amount of lemon- perfect! They taste great. I also used half whole-wheat pastry flour in the crust this time, and it's delicious still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I halved this recipe because I am the only person in my family who enjoys lemons! The lemon bars were delicious and I was glad to have them all to myself. I used Splenda instead of white sugar with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used to make this recipe 15 years ago and was thrilled to find it on allrecipes.com. The crust is buttery and good and the filling is tart and sweet. My family was thrilled to eat our "lemon squares" again. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I have gotten so many compliments on these lemon bars. They are quite potent and sweet, but they have been a winner for me at Easter, mother's day, etc. I make sure to use Meyer lemons for the juice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
These were easy and delicious!! They turned out well, with a nice crust and plenty of lemon flavor without being overbearing. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyandgreg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I am replacing my 3-star rating with a 5-star... these were a really good texture, and tasted just right. I used 2 lemons which was actually about 3/4 cup (slightly more than the 5/8). They look better after they've thoroughly cooled... at first I thought they were way too buttery because the butter was oozing through the top and they smelled like eggs. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
These are amazing. And if you don't know anything about baking, you WILL NOT mess this up. Guaranteed My boyfriend loved these. The crust is not too thick, and there if just the right balance of tart and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Thanks alot Ralph. I must have added an inch to each thigh with these. These are beyond fabulous. I had to lie to my boyfriend and tell him that friends came over to help me eat them. Rich and buttery. Everything I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States