Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I think that the directions should have said 30 rather than 3 minutes for baking the lemon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I love these bars, they are great! However, please cook in oven an additional 30 minutes, not 3 as is typoed here. Also, I added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest to add more lemon flavor. They bake with a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
If you want a really good lemony 'zip,' I definitely recommend adding lemon zest to the topping. I used 2 lemons' worth, which was perfect for us; I also added the pulp from the juicer. I was a little worried about the lemon topping when I first made it - it looked very gloopy - rather like custard. However, it did set nicely. I think this would also be nice served warm, straight-from-the-oven with some good vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
When I first made this, I found the recipe quite rich and sweet because of the amount of sugar and butter you have to put. The second time I made this, I lessened the butter 1/4 cup and made the confectioner's sugar 3/4 cup. Also I made the white sugar 1 1/4 cups. It greatly improved the taste and made it less rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
These are the best lemon squares I have ever tasted! The lemon doesn't overpower the crust - just how I like it. Although, they don't refridgerate very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used to make this recipe 15 years ago and was thrilled to find it on allrecipes.com. The crust is buttery and good and the filling is tart and sweet. My family was thrilled to eat our "lemon squares" again. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I have gotten so many compliments on these lemon bars. They are quite potent and sweet, but they have been a winner for me at Easter, mother's day, etc. I make sure to use Meyer lemons for the juice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I had limes instead of lemons, so I decided to experiment. It turned out pretty good. Although my filling started getting pretty brown on top before it was thoroughly cooked though. The limes were a different twist, but I'd add less juice next time. They were pretty tart. And I added a few drops of green food coloring, so people would know the difference. The crust was a little thick too. I think that next time I make it, I will cut down the crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I love lemon squares. I thought I would try this recipe because of all the good reviews on it. I do agree that the lemon topping should be baked for 30 minutes. Also I used a glass baking dish and it was very hard to get the crust unstuck from the bottom. I recommend that before you start to make this you grease the pan or baking dish first if it is not a nonstick one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
A family fave but the 3 minutes should be 30 on the last instruction. This is also nice if you substitute with a plain vanilla cake mix (about 1 inch thick) as the base and use the same lemon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States