Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe as instructed (I goofed and added too much lemon juice though)and really liked it. The hubby is not find of lemons though (but he loved the crust), has anyone tried this recipe with peach juice instead of lemons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These set up beautifully but were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I read through several other recipes and their reviews. I decided on this one because other recipes only called for 2 TB of lemon juice, and this one calls for well over 1/2 c. of lemon juice. I don't know about you, but I like my lemon bars to taste like lemon, thank you very much. Sure, they may be a little more tart than the 2 TB bars, but it's lemon...it's supposed to!! So here is my review of this particular recipe: i followed the suggestions of Jeannette's review, that being, reducing the butter by 2 TB and cutting away the edge of the lemon bars from the pan when taken from oven, which was a life saver as these bars are slightly sticky and gooey at first. I did not add the lemon zest to the crust as I did not have real lemon. i also dusted the top of the bars with the confectioner's sugar. Yes, these are tart and tangy. Yes, they are gooey. But they are pretty awesome. My sister loved them and my daughter who does not like lemon bars ate a couple of them. This is a repeat recipe. Thanks for uploading! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
made these according to recipe... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made these twice and both times they were wonderful. The first batch accidentally got left in the oven for too long, but nothing that a lo of powdered sugar can't fix. The second batch got cooked exactly as the recipe states, and I think that the next time I'm going to cook longer than the recipe calls for, but not as long as I did the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Have tried so many lemon bar recipes but THIS IS IT!!! The other recipes call for very little lemon juice - you can't taste the lemon in Ina Garten's recipe! I gave a dozen to a neighbor and he said he sat down and ate all but two; asked for more :) Thanks to another poster suggesting lemon zest... wonderful idea. These are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These are amazing! So easy and so delicious. I used the leftover lemons I used for making limoncello also on this site. The only thing I changed was to add a little lemon zest to the crust. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I really enjoyed making these lemon squares and I just feel like I needed to add a little bit more lemon juice for a more tart flavor. And I feel that it is MUCH better to buy a margarine with no added salt rather than butter because the butter is too greasy and fatty. plus the crust will come out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Can you freeze these? I have to make ahead for an office potluck???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States