Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Too much crust and not enough filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
These were very nice squares. I made them for my Christmas tray and all the company enjoyed them. I love the tart lemon flavor and it was a good contrast to all the other sugary treats that were on the table. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smilin' Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I followed the reviewer's suggestions and did not melt the butter. I felt the crust was too thick for the amount of filling so I will reduce the crust next time. Flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Delicious!! I made this exactly as stated -- just halved it. I might have let the crust go a little longer accidentally. Very, very yummy. This is now my go-to lemon bar recipe. I'm going to try it again with margarine, because butter is getting really expensive around here and if I can save a little money, I'll make these way more often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe as instructed (I goofed and added too much lemon juice though)and really liked it. The hubby is not find of lemons though (but he loved the crust), has anyone tried this recipe with peach juice instead of lemons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These set up beautifully but were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I read through several other recipes and their reviews. I decided on this one because other recipes only called for 2 TB of lemon juice, and this one calls for well over 1/2 c. of lemon juice. I don't know about you, but I like my lemon bars to taste like lemon, thank you very much. Sure, they may be a little more tart than the 2 TB bars, but it's lemon...it's supposed to!! So here is my review of this particular recipe: i followed the suggestions of Jeannette's review, that being, reducing the butter by 2 TB and cutting away the edge of the lemon bars from the pan when taken from oven, which was a life saver as these bars are slightly sticky and gooey at first. I did not add the lemon zest to the crust as I did not have real lemon. i also dusted the top of the bars with the confectioner's sugar. Yes, these are tart and tangy. Yes, they are gooey. But they are pretty awesome. My sister loved them and my daughter who does not like lemon bars ate a couple of them. This is a repeat recipe. Thanks for uploading! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
made these according to recipe... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made these twice and both times they were wonderful. The first batch accidentally got left in the oven for too long, but nothing that a lo of powdered sugar can't fix. The second batch got cooked exactly as the recipe states, and I think that the next time I'm going to cook longer than the recipe calls for, but not as long as I did the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States