Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've made these twice now. The first batch I accidentally used two cups of both flour and powdered sugar...made the crust a bit chewy, but still good! Second time around, I got the crust right and added just a touch of yellow food color to top layer....AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My daughter and I made these yesterday and they were a hit. I used a pan for brownies/squares. There was was enough filling even though it may not have been as firm as the original recipe intended. The only change I made was lemon zest in the crust. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntreez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Amazing just the way the recipe is written. I would suggest using parchment paper to be able to get the bars out easily. Otherwise YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I am not a fan of anything lemon. I made these for a reception at my cousin's request. They were delicious!! A perfect blend of sweet and tart. The shortbread crust is outstanding and is a perfect base for many other variations of bar recipes. This recipe is easy to make and will quickly become a demanded item for family get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe as is, however I made a few additions. As I was only testing outthis recipe, I cut the recipe in half. For the crust, I added 1/3 cup of unsweeted shaved coconut. I did not use melted butter, and instead used softened butter. In the lemon mixture I added half of a brick of cream cheese to the mixture and then blended. This gave the squares a delicious creamy taste and the coconut just gave it a punch of exotic flavour. Everyone is gobbling these tasty bars up (including me)! Will definately make again YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Too much crust and not enough filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
These were very nice squares. I made them for my Christmas tray and all the company enjoyed them. I love the tart lemon flavor and it was a good contrast to all the other sugary treats that were on the table. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smilin' Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I followed the reviewer's suggestions and did not melt the butter. I felt the crust was too thick for the amount of filling so I will reduce the crust next time. Flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Delicious!! I made this exactly as stated -- just halved it. I might have let the crust go a little longer accidentally. Very, very yummy. This is now my go-to lemon bar recipe. I'm going to try it again with margarine, because butter is getting really expensive around here and if I can save a little money, I'll make these way more often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe as instructed (I goofed and added too much lemon juice though)and really liked it. The hubby is not find of lemons though (but he loved the crust), has anyone tried this recipe with peach juice instead of lemons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States