Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Yummy yummy yummy!! If you love lemons it is a great recipe! Only advice taken was to add lemon zest otherwise followed the recipe. Was very delicious! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Excellent except I hadn't viewed the video so didn't prepare my pan... so it was difficult getting out. It was very tasty and I will be making it again...but not too often because I can't stop eating it. It's delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I was so pleased with the results of this recipe! If you like the taste and texture of pre-fab boxed lemon squares, this is definitely the recipe to use. It's very similar, but fresh and improved. I think those who had poor reviews would be surprised and how much minor error can affect the outcome. For example, when it says the eggs should be beaten until light, it's very important that they are beaten enough. This will prevent the lemon layer from being flat and runny. I also think there is a big difference between fresh lemon juice and bottled juice that's been in the fridge for quite some time. I only had 1 and 3/4 fresh lemons, which only yielded just under a half-cup of juice and they had a very strong lemon flavor. While I don't think it's fair to make a lot of changes to a recipe and then give it a review based upon that version, I do have some minor changes to suggest for optimal results: 1. Cut the butter into the crust just as you would do for a pie versus melting for flakier texture. 2. Throw a little lemon zest into the crust mix and the batter. It will add a little tartness and increase the lemon flavor without putting it over the top. 3. Whip the eggs and add 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar, this will fluff up the lemon layer and make it thicker and firmer without making it dense. The recipe is great either way, I just found those minor changes preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great basic recipe, will make again. Made once so far and cut the sugar a little and added the zest from a lemon to the crust. They were very good this way, but will try not melting the butter into the crust next time, as the crust turned out a little too firm for me this go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
BF loved these. Shortbread with tangy lemon on top. I addede lemon to the cookie (shortbread part) before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is so rich and sweet it tastes like a European pastry. I added lemon zest, and wished I'd baked it only 25 minutes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I'll be making this again and again! I cut these into rather small pieces - 30 - and served them for a potluck on cupcake wrappers. They're sticky, so the wrappers kept them neat and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious, with just the right amount of lemon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Best lemon bars that I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I needed a dessert for 15 hard working men, so I tried this recipe out - my first attempt at lemon squares. I made them exactly as the recipe said, and they turned out perfect! A huge hit with the guys, and their wives, who asked for the recipe. The only recipe I will use for lemon squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hvgb_baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Everyone loved. If you really love super lemony favors, this is kind of on the mild side flavor wise, but the shortbread crust was yummy. Made exactly as written except added dash of salt to crust and some pulp and zest from 3 lemons to filling and powdered sugar dusting once cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States