Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great! Very tart. Might want to lessen the sugar in the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe and the only tweak I made was to add a dash of salt to the flour for the crust and add the zest of the lemons to the filling. The added salt enhanced the buttery sweetness of the crust and complemented the tangy lemon of the filling. The added zest upped the lemon flavor as well since you get the essential oils and not just the juice. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Used Meyer lemons for this recipe. Added about 1/2 t. finely grated lemon zest to the dry crust ingredients. As long as you don't work the crust too much, it has a nice, munchy texture. Dusted lightly with powdered sugar after brief cooling, then cooled the rest of the way in the fridge before cutting. A-MA-ZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I'm addicted! I've made two batches so far and they were yummy. I used Meyer lemons. They're a little pricier than regular lemons but one try and you will know why. The first time I made these bars, I followed the directions except I substituted butter for the Pam (I don't like the butane in Pam). The filling didn't quite set in the middle after 30 minutes and my crust was kinda stuck to the pan. But the bars were still yummy. The second time I made them they turned out so much better for me with these changes: (1) I used softened butter instead of melted butter for the crust (2) Used a pan with a removable bottom (3) Lined the pan on the bottom and all around the sides with parchment paper (worked like a charm) (4) Wiped the parchment with the butter wrapper (a trick I found online), (5) Baked the filling at 350F for 30 minutes and then turned on convection for an additional 7 minutes. The second batch was perfect and the bars were a hit at my office potluck! Can't wait to make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Made them as is, except grated two lemons and added the zest to the crust and lemon juice mixture. I put 1/3 of it in the crust and the rest to the juice mix. I squeezed both lemons and got the perfect amount of juice that the recipe asked for. Lucky that I bought the right size lemons! Whenever I make cheesecake or bar type baked goods, I line the pan with heavy duty foil (I don't own a springform pan). When they cool completely, I lift the foil out, peel the sides away and have perfect bars to cut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I made earlier today and I can’t stop going back for just one more bite. I made the recipe exactly as written. Wouldn’t change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made a half batch following the recipe (no modifications). The filling looked set and browned after just 22min at 350F so I took it out of the oven. (Maybe it is just my oven, but I would recommend keeping an eye on them after about 20min.) The flavor is just ok, not quite lemony enough for my taste. I think I would prefer a higher filling to crust ratio. After making the recipe, I read reviews with suggestions to increase the filling, use extra lemon juice, and put lemon zest in the crust. Those modifications sound promising, but I think I'll try a different lemon bar recipe next time. Follow up note after overnight refrigeration: the filling consistency was better, but the crust had become rather hard. A hard crust was mentioned in other reviews as being a result of using melted butter in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
They were very sweet but I did enjoy them! Next time i will use either more lemon and the same amount of sugar or less sugar and the same amount of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These are very good. Followed the recipe to the tee. Made them on Wednesday and had to remake them on Thursday. They went that fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made lemon bars so many times before but this time couldn't find my recipe. Thinking that all lemon bars/ squares equal I made this one because it had the most stars and great reviews. That was my first mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States