Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These lemon squares are to amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I've used this recipe since 2011 and every time i make them i get so many compliments - my niece has even asked me to make them for her graduation party - i've never modified this recipe at all and do not believe it needs any changes thanks so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made these, kind of. I read all the comments and followed commenter Paige's recipe instead. I doubled the filling and had to cook them for twice the amount of time or more until it stopped jiggling and thickened up more. The powdered sugar in the crust was awesome tip! I did not use melted butter. The taste testers all want the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made these today and they were very good with a few exceptions. My oven is typically very accurate but the crust got too brown when baking it for 15 minutes and the filling got too dark baking it for 30. Could be that I should have lowered the temperature since I did not use a glass pan but the same metal one as shown on the video. The only small change was I added the zest from one lemon to the crust mix before baking. One note regarding the video. I sprayed my pan with a cooking spray and then put in parchment and sprayed that as suggested. It made it almost impossible to get the bars out and I have never had this trouble before. I lost half the bars. Won't do that again. The flavor of the bars and crust was very good. I used Meyer lemons and they always add flavor. Any tips on storing them so they don't get soggy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I am not a lemon lover but had a craving for something with lemon in it. I made these lemon bars this past weekend and I LOVED THEM. Can't or should I say, shouldn't eat too many at once. I would make this and bring it the next gathering in a heart beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen A Horn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
After reading other reviews I doubled the amount of filling but cut back on the sugar by 25%. I love lemon and am fortunate to have a Meyer Lemon tree outside my front door. As with all lemon bars I always add some lemon zest to the filling. I like short bread cookies so the crust was perfect. To the crust I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. I liked that the recipe said it made 1 9"x13" pan and not some rediculously large number of itty bitty bars. When it comes to dessert, small is something I don't know how to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written except i added lemon zest to the crust and to the lemon egg mix. The crust is very good, but there is not enough filling to balance it out. The lemon curd should be at least as thick as the crust. And, yes, it needs more lemon tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great! Very tart. Might want to lessen the sugar in the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe and the only tweak I made was to add a dash of salt to the flour for the crust and add the zest of the lemons to the filling. The added salt enhanced the buttery sweetness of the crust and complemented the tangy lemon of the filling. The added zest upped the lemon flavor as well since you get the essential oils and not just the juice. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Used Meyer lemons for this recipe. Added about 1/2 t. finely grated lemon zest to the dry crust ingredients. As long as you don't work the crust too much, it has a nice, munchy texture. Dusted lightly with powdered sugar after brief cooling, then cooled the rest of the way in the fridge before cutting. A-MA-ZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States