Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Tried these twice the lemon filling was excellent but the crust pre-baking then baking just didn't work. Sorry had to rate the recipe one star because I had to work with it so much to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These bars tasted like my mom's, but the consistency was AWFUL! They stuck to the pan and were like bricks. I would not try these, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanyabell3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good base recipe. But I made a couple changes. First, way too much sugar, drop it down to at least 1 3/4 C sugar. I added all of the lemon zest to the filling. Also, I increased the crust measurements and cook time by 50% because of my own personal taste. Finally, I cooked the filing on a double boiler to a pudding consistency to avoid browning in the oven, which I baked for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I love this recipe. The only change I recommend is to add lemon zest to the crust. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Grimshaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe as it is. (I had no trouble using melted butter.) It does kick it up a notch if you put fresh lemon zest in the crust. Wait until after you cut the bars to sprinkle a bit of confectioners sugar on top- it makes them look more tidy and sexy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great recipe but we use 3/4 C. lemon juice, 5 eggs and only 1 C. of sugar and these bars are our biggest seller at our Farmer's Markets. Replace the lemon juice with Lime juice, add 1/2 Tsp. imitation coconut and 1/3 C. of coconut for an out of this world, Coconut Key Lime Bar. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Really good basic recipe. It was a little sweet w/ only 5/8 c lemon juice. So I added a little more (about 2 TB). Also, I wanted something different so I put the filling mix in a blender, added 5 strawberries, and then poured the mix into the crust. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Simply Delicious. Like other reviewers, I was intimidated by the extensive changes some people recommended. The ONLY change I decided to make was to not melt the butter. Otherwise, I made it exactly as written. It came out great!! If there is a change needed in order to keep the recipe from failing, please share. However,some of these changes people are calling for are completely unnecessary, and for personal preference only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akc52
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Followed the recipe almost exactly (had to use 2 8x8" pans and rounded up lemon juice to 3/4 c) and turned out delicious. If I were to make these again, I'd probably follow what many other reviewers recommended and double the filling -- but that's more of a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
it was delish! thank you :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States