Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
My first attempt making a lemon sponge pie and it was SUPERB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I won a pie baking contest with this recipe. Easy to make and taste was delicious. I had no problem with the crust or consistency of custard. I will be making this again. By the way I split it into two pans which made it flat and Im guessing thats why the custard was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This one's a keeper! The contrast in textures is amazing. Perfect for a spring or summer get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I baked this for dessert for friends we had over for dinner last night. I heard rave reviews on it. I served it with sugared blueberries on top. My guests said it was the best pie they ever ate. I must agree. My mom use to make it. In fact,that was the last time I had it, say 35 years ago. I doubled the recipe and gave a pie to my daughter and her family, she called me last evening (while my guests were here)and told me it was scrumptious. The really nice part is that it takes only very simple ingredients and the returns on it are lovely. It is a bit difficult to prepare but I think every new recipe is when you first make it. Please give this a try. If you like lemon, this recipe is the ultimate reward for a job well done! Flowers to the person that sent it in, it will be on the menu permanently at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
do not use skim milk as the custard will not set up. I used a cookie sheet under the pan as it is very full. And baked it a bit longer than above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by punkim30
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Really good lemon flavor. My daughter who dislikes pie loved this pie. I followed directions and recipe as called for, except added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to my egg whites. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turtle
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This pie is really delicious - light and fluffy with a great, tangy lemon flavor. I followed the advice of some others and prebaked my crust for 10 minutes before adding the filling, and it turned out perfectly. I also topped mine with sugared strawberries and it was a lovely sweet compliment to the lemon flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Just like my grandmothers pie. I did have to add time to the recipe though. The top should be a dark golden brown, as in very dark... If the top is slightly browned, or golden brown, it'll be a bit runny. I've made this pie many times, and I've never received a complaint, only accolades. My all time favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dannemora, New York, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This brings back memories of the "Distlefink" restaurant (Gettysburg, PA) and my childhood. They had the best Lemon Sponge Pie in south-central Pennsylvania (my opinion). When I left that area Lemon Sponge Pie became impossible to find and became an incredibly special treat whenever I returned home. This is one of the easiest recipes I have found and it lends itself to experimentation so you can make it "to taste". When the lemon is just a touch stronger the aroma of the baking pie makes your mouth water. Lemon Sponge Pie is my all-time favorite (bar none) so one pie doesn't last very long for me. Anyone who loves this pie will likely tell you it's great with almost any meal. For you coffee lovers, this is a phenomenal "go-with" for that evening cup of coffee - especially in winter! Easy to create. Mouth-wateringly delicious. Everyone in your family will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I'm not a big fan of lemon sponge pie and my wife is nervous about making pies but she tried this recipe and all I can say is WOW! This was absolutely delicious. It made me re-think lemon sponge pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States